Zen and Psychotherapy

Partners in Liberation

Foreword by Norman Fischer
LIST PRICE $17.95
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

A new take on the interplay of emotional and spiritual development, in the tradition of Safran’s Psychoanalysis and Buddhism, which has sold nearly 13,000 copies.

“Please read this book. Joseph Bobrow is a true meditation teacher who walks his talk and enjoys his practice.” —Thich Nhat Hanh

What do Zen and psychotherapy have in common? How do they differ and how do they support each other’s goals?

This book is an intimate dialogue that examines the interplay of emotional and spiritual development through the lens of Zen Buddhism and psychotherapy. Zen and Psychotherapy artfully illuminates the intrinsic connections between the two practices, and demonstrates how these traditions can be complementary in helping to live a truly fulfilled and contented life.

Zen teacher and psychologist Joseph Bobrow deftly explores how integrating these two streams can help us to better understand our conscious and unconscious experiences and more fully develop the fundamental capacities of the self.

Bobrow shows how the major themes of trauma, attachment, emotional communication, and emotional regulation play out in the context of Zen and psychotherapeutic practice, and how, in concert, both provide a comprehensive, interactive model of fully functioning human life.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Wisdom Publications (June 16, 2020)
  • Length: 274 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781614296805

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“This is a quiet book that works you, not simply informs you. Bobrow embodies unconscious affective communication between psychoanalysis and Buddhism. He’s lived it. The book carries it. The reader experiences it.”

– Charles Spezzano, PhD, author of Affect in Psychoanalysis and co-editor of Soul on the Couch

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images