Worse Things Happen at Sea!

A Tale of Pirates, Poison, and Monsters

Illustrated by Alan Snow
LIST PRICE $9.99

About The Book

Set sail for a “quirky, fast-paced adventure on the high seas” (SLJ) in this rollicking tale of pirates, poison, and monsters from New York Times bestselling author of Here Be Monsters!

The kooky residents of Ratbridge are clamoring for the miracle medicine Black Jollop, but a shortage calls for action. The Nautical Laundry, the famed rat-pirate vessel, must journey afar to gather the medicine’s secret ingredient. But things aren’t what they seem…and soon the ship is under attack. Can young Arthur and his Ratbridge friends triumph and return with the cure for the towns ills?

Illustrated throughout with hundreds of detailed and delightful black-and-white drawings, this imaginative novel will captivate young sea-faring scallywags and brave buccaneers who love a daring, humorous, and extraordinary adventure.

About The Author

Photo Credit:

Alan Snow is a well-known author and illustrator of children’s books and has also worked in many fields of design and animation. He has written two novels, Here Be Monsters! and Worse Things Happen at Sea!, both set in the wonderfully weird world of Ratbridge. He lives in Bath, England.

About The Illustrator

Photo Credit:

Alan Snow is a well-known author and illustrator of children’s books and has also worked in many fields of design and animation. He has written two novels, Here Be Monsters! and Worse Things Happen at Sea!, both set in the wonderfully weird world of Ratbridge. He lives in Bath, England.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers (July 2013)
  • Length: 352 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781442468238
  • Grades: 3 - 9
  • Ages: 8 - 14
  • Lexile ® 770L

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"More cheese-centric shenanigans...There’s foolery aplenty."

– Kirkuse Reviews

Illustrated throughout with hundreds of detailed and delightful black-and-white drawings, this imaginative novel will captivate young sea-faring scallywags and brave buccaneers who love a daring, humorous, and extraordinary adventure.

– KidsRead.com

This quirky, fast-paced adventure on the high seas delivers plenty of dry humor and delightfully odd characters. Snow’s many detailed illustrations will help connect the dots for struggling readers, aiding them in making sense of the more esoteric maritime vocabulary and allowing them to soar through the book’s lengthy page count. Ratbridge newspaper clippings enhance the world-building. Readers who enjoy Lemony Snicket or Roald Dahl will relish this charming and strange story.

– School Library Journal

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Alan Snow

More books in this series: The Ratbridge Chronicles