Skip to Main Content

Wizkit

An Adventure Overdue

Illustrated by Tanya J. Scott

LIST PRICE $20.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Hilda and the Troll meets The Okay Witch in this delightfully whimsical middle grade graphic novel about a magical cyclops cat on her first trip away from home who learns even the most ordinary journeys can be magical with the right company!

It’s a wild, enchanted, wonderful world out there, way beyond the fjord that a one-eyed cat named Wizkit calls home. But Wizkit wouldn’t know anything about that—as a Wizard’s apprentice, all her lessons are indoors, and she’s far too lazy to go out exploring. There’s no need to—she already knows enough spells to conjure up delicious snacks whenever she’s hungry!

But when an overdue library book literally cries out to be returned, Wizkit’s Teacher decides she must be the one to take it back. Reluctantly (and rather accidentally), the journey to the Library begins. With the annoyingly optimistic Book in tow, Wizkit sets off on an adventure that is full of strange characters with even stranger problems. Wizkit will soon find out that, with a little support and a new friendship, her own magical talents can be part of the solution.

About The Author

Photograph (c) Tanya J. Scott

Tanya J. Scott is a creative human person specializing in 2D illustration and animation. She is currently based in London, usually helping to make children’s television series. Wizkit is her first graphic novel. 

About The Illustrator

Photograph (c) Tanya J. Scott

Tanya J. Scott is a creative human person specializing in 2D illustration and animation. She is currently based in London, usually helping to make children’s television series. Wizkit is her first graphic novel. 

Why We Love It

Wizkit is a gorgeous, surreal, and funny tale about leaving your comfort zone and expanding your horizons. This is perfect for fans of the Hilda series by Luke Pearson, or for the younger siblings of anyone who loves Beetle & the Hollowbones, with all the same hilarious, wholesome spirit that makes those stories shine.”

—Julia M., Editor, on Wizkit

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers (April 4, 2023)
  • Length: 144 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665900836
  • Grades: 3 - 7
  • Ages: 8 - 12

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Uses colorful, legible cartoons to show off the fantastical, silly world, and the text is generally short and punchy, ideal for newly independent readers. Lightweight and likable.”

– Kirkus Reviews, 3/1/2023

"In the vein of Adventure Time and Regular Show, debut creator Scott conjures a surreal sojourn about finding magic in the mundane and learning that even the most tedious endeavors can become a grand adventure. . . . Scott’s jewel-toned palette and gently rounded panels render bizarre settings and delightfully far-fetched situations to craft a graphic novel jaunt that explores the precept of kindness and the need for connection, whether through acquiring knowledge, friends, or confidence in one’s abilities. Witnessing Wizkit’s small steps toward self-discovery is rewarding, and through her encounters with mystical creatures great and small, and her hesitant efforts to help them weather varying conflicts, Wizkit learns what Scott posits is the greatest lesson of all: perspective."

– Publishers Weekly, 2/6/2023

"This is a great little fantasy read about not just being yourself but accepting others the way they are, too. The pacing is nice and even. . . . The simple, stylized drawings let the reader focus on the characters and Wizkit's journey with Book to the library, while dynamic panel layouts make it so readers can enjoy some background setting in between scenes, too. . . . Hand it to any kid who loves fantasy adventure stories."

– Booklist

Awards and Honors

  • Kansas NEA Reading Circle List Intermediate Title

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images