Skip to Main Content

About The Book

Analog SF called the first two books in the series: "Fine thrillers with many resonances for today’s world." In a bombastic, thrilling ride Johnston's new book brings war to space.

The sequel to The Widening Gyre and Blood-Dimmed Tide praised by Locus,, Booklist, Library Journal and more!

As the Zhen Empire descends into civil war, Tajen, Liam, and Katherine each have their own part to play in the final conflict between the human race and the Zhen Empire. As Tajen searches the outer regions in an attempt to find and recruit Zhen deserters to his side, Katherine heads for Marauder space to seek out technology their Tabran allies need. Liam, believing his two best friends dead, must keep the human fleet alive as it is pursued across the Empire by Zhen forces. As the final battle approaches, each of them will be tested to their limits.

FLAME TREE PRESS is the imprint of long-standing Independent Flame Tree Publishing, dedicated to full-length original fiction in the horror and suspense, science fiction & fantasy, and crime / mystery / thriller categories. The list brings together fantastic new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices. Learn more about Flame Tree Press at and connect on social media @FlameTreePress

About The Author

Michael R. Johnston is a high school English teacher and writer living in Sacramento, California with his wife, daughter, and more cats than is strictly necessary.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Flame Tree Press (June 21, 2022)
  • Length: 304 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781787586543

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for The Widening Gyre and Blood-Dimmed Tide (Books #1 and #2 in the Remembrance War series)

“The Widening Gyre is the best Space Opera I’ve read in years.” -- Cemetery Dance Online

“Johnston's debut will keep readers on the edge of their seats as the heroes get themselves into one scrape after another. It has a hint of Battlestar Galactica, but with giant reptilian aliens. Johnston, with skillful plotting and impeccable world building, takes the tale of Tajen and his crew searching for home and shapes it into an unforgettable journey." - ALA Booklist

“Readers will feel invested in Tajen’s team of affable human rebels and their futures” -- Publishers Weekly

"Tajen Hunt [and] the rest of the crew from the first book of The Remembrance War series are back and determined to protect and maintain control of their ancestral home, Earth, [in] a narrative that will resonate with readers." -- Booklist

“Fans of David Weber or Elizabeth Moon will enjoy this debut, and experienced sf readers will catch some winks at other series.” -- Library Journal

"Fine thrillers with many resonances for today’s world, both The Blood-Dimmed Tide and its precursor are rewarding reads." -- Analog SF

Johnston proves that he has a deft hand at world building and is giving us a new take on Earth’s future [...] A thrilling ride full of mystery and mayhem.” --

“What makes the book work is the characters. They all have interesting flaws, strengths, short-sightedness, and wisdom: they’re well rounded enough that I really came away liking them, even some of the villains.” -- Locus Magazine

“Johnston has taken the best elements from the old masters of space opera and created a fresh and fun story.” --

“The energetic second space opera in Johnston’s Remembrance War series (after the Widening Gyre) offers big, bombastic set pieces [...] Curious differences between the various alien races, futuristic tech that’s flashy without being overbearing, and the complexities of interstellar politics all entertain while rounding out the worldbuilding as Johnston pushes his characters toward an inevitable interspecies war.” -- Publishers Weekly

"The breakneck action meshes with moments of clever world-building and thoughtful diplomacy. Fans of nonstop space battles and high political stakes will enjoy this series ender."

– Publishers Weekly

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Michael R. Johnston

More books in this series: The Remembrance War