Skip to Main Content

Weaveworld

A horrifying and spellbinding tale by the “great imaginer of our time” (Quentin Tarantino) and New York Times bestselling author Clive Barker about the magical world lying right beneath our feet.

In a home of an elderly woman in Liverpool lies a carpet.

Suzanna Parish is called to Liverpool after her grandmother has a stroke. Cal Mooney is on the run from an escaped homing pigeon. Together they find themselves accidently drawn into the strange world that lies beneath the mysterious rug. Here, a race of magical beings have hidden themselves from the normal world to escape human persecution and an evil known as the Scourge. But two other evils, a ruthless witch and her sidekick, seek the carpet for their own gain and will do whatever it takes to find it. As the intricate weavings of the tapestry come undone, Suzanna and Cal must face their biggest fears to save this discovered land and all its inhabitants.

Brutal, beautiful, brilliant, and full of his original illustrations, Clive Barker spins his best in this “unhinged and indulgent” (Entertainment Weekly) imaginative tale.

Clive Barker is the bestselling author of over twenty novels and collections, including Weaveworld, Imajica, and Galilee. He regularly shows his art in Los Angeles and New York, and produces and directs for both large screen and small. He lives in California with his partner.

"I think Clive Barker is so good that I am literally tongue-tied."

– Stephen King, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Institute

"To call Clive Barker a 'horror novelist' would be like calling the Beatles a 'garage band'... He is the great imaginer of our time. He knows not only our greatest fears, but also what delights us, what turns us on, and what is truly holy in the world. Haunting, bizarre, beautiful."

– Quentin Tarantino

"Unhinged and indulgent."

– Entertainment Weekly

"Barker is much more than genre writer." 

– The New York Times Book Review

"Diverting and quite inventive."

– Publishers Weekly

"[A] fabulously-rendered world where Barker made everything—even the struggles of microscopic creatures in a Persian carpet—real and convincing and absorbing."

– Tor.com

"This new dark fantasy, an epic tale of a magic carpet and the wondrous world within its weave, towers above [Barker's] earlier work... The most ambitious and visionary horror novel of the decade."

– Kirkus Reviews

"Literary genius."

– Dread Central

“Precise, clearly executed prose that simultaneously repels and spellbinds the reader... Literature in the tradition of Poe, Shelley, and Hawthorne.”

– Elle Magazine

“Barker has an unparalleled talent for envisioning other worlds.”

– The Washington Post

“A powerful and fascinating writer with a brilliant imagination... an outstanding storyteller.”

– J.G. Ballard, bestselling author of The Drowned World and Empire of the Sun

“[Clive Barker] is a mapmaker of the mind, charting the furthest reaches of the imagination... His ambition and audacity are unparalleled; we know that we are in the presence of a vision that is genuine, unique, and lasting.”

– The Washington Times

“Sexier than King and more inventive than Ann Rice.”

– Dallas Morning Star Telegram

"A writer of stunning imagination."

– Atlanta Journal-Constitution

More books from this author: Clive Barker