Skip to Main Content

Though Hell Should Bar the Way

Book #12 of RCN

MOST RECENT ENTRY IN THE NATIONALLY BEST-SELLING RCN MILITARY SF SERIES. David Drake, Dean of Military Science Fiction, returns with another entry in his best-selling RCN series.

HONOR IN A WORLD OF PIRATES, POLITICS, AND SPIES

Roy Olfetrie planned to be an officer in the Republic of Cinnabar Navy, but when his father is unmasked as a white-collar criminal, Roy has to take whatever he can get. Which turns out to be an assignment to accompany Captain Daniel Leary and Lady Adele Mundy as they go off to start a war that will put Roy at the sharp end.

Duty snatches Roy from the harem of a pirate chief to a world of monsters, from interstellar reaches in a half-wrecked starship to assassination attempts in posh houses. Roy has the choice of making friends or dying friendless; of meeting betrayal and responding to it; of breaking his faith or keeping it at the risk of his life. The action doesn’t slow—and neither can Roy. For Captain Leary has given Roy a chance, and Roy is determined to make the most of —

THOUGH HELL SHOULD BAR THE WAY 

Praise for Though Hell Should Bar the Way:

Though Hell Should Bar the Way is vastly entertaining, a tale that demonstrates Drake’s skill as an author, illustrating why Drake is one of the best living science fiction authors today."—The Daily News of Galveston County
 
About David Drake’s RCN series:

“[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.”—Publishers Weekly

“The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!”—Philadelphia Weekly Press

“[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.”—SFReader.com

“Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.” —Publishers Weekly

About David Drake:

“[P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…”—Chicago Sun-Times

“Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.”—Booklist

RCN series:
With the Lightnings
Lt. Leary, Commanding
The Far Side of the Stars
The Way to Glory
Some Golden Harbor
When the Tide Rises
In the Stormy Red Sky
What Distant Deeps
The Road of Danger   
The Sea Without a Shore
Death's Bright Day
Though Hell Should Bar the Way

More books from this author: David Drake

More books in this series: RCN