Things We Left Unsaid

LIST PRICE $14.95
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

Deep in an Iranian suburb, made rich by the booming oil industry, Clarice Ayvazian lives a comfortable life surrounded by the gentle bickering of her children and her gossiping friends and relatives. Happy being at the heart of her family, she devotes herself to their every need. But when an enigmatic Armenian family move in across the street, something begins to gnaw at Clarice's contentment: a feeling that there may be more to life – and to her – than this. Dizzy with the sweltering heat and simmering emotions, Clarice begins to feel herself come alive to possibilities previously unimaginable. Set in Iran prior to the Islamic revolution, Zoya Pirzad's award-winning novel crafts an intimate portrait of family life – its joys and its compromises – and how we find a happiness that endures.

For fans of Anne Tyler, Things We Left Unsaid is a humourous and pointed insight into the hopes and aspirations of Iranians in the years that led to the Islamic Revolution.

About The Author

Zoya Pirzad is a renowned Iranian-Armenian writer and novelist. She is the author of the international bestseller Things We Left Unsaid, and her most recent collection of stories, The Bitter Taste of Persimmon, won the prize for Best Foreign Book of 2009 in France. She grew up in Abadan, Iran, and now lives in Yerevan, Armenia.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Oneworld Publications (May 1, 2013)
  • Length: 352 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781851689675

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"A note-perfect portrait...by a wonderful writer."

– Frank Huyler, author of Right of Thirst

The sparked imagination for both characters and reader is beautiful, but it is truly the things Pirzad leaves unsaid that make this book so good."

– Austin Chronicle

"A rising star of Iranian literature, Zoya Pirzad transcends the everyday with her luminous writing."

– Elle

"A grand, panoramic family saga... Pirzad writes with wit and precision, deftly evoking the daily routines and rhythms of a city on the cusp of revolutionary changes."

– New Internationalist

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Zoya Pirzad