The Women in Black

A Novel

LIST PRICE $11.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

“The book I most often give as a gift to cheer people up.” —Hilary Mantel

An irresistibly charming debut novel set in a department store in Sydney in the 1950s.

The women in black, so named for the black frocks they wear while working at an upscale department store called Goode’s, are run off their feet selling ladies’ cocktail dresses during the busy season. But in Sydney in the 1950s, there’s always time to pursue other goals…

Patty, in her mid-thirties, has been working at Goode’s for years. She’s married to Frank, who eats a steak for dinner every night, watches a few minutes of TV, and then turns in, leaving Patty to her own thoughts. She wants a baby, but Frank is always too tired for that kind of thing. Sweet Fay, wants to settle down with a nice man, but somehow nice men don’t see her as marriage material.

The glamorous Magda runs the high-end gowns department. A Slovenian émigré who met her Hungarian husband in a refugee camp, Magda is clever and cultured. She finds the Australians to be unfashionable, and dreams of opening her own boutique one day.

Lisa, a teenager awaiting the results of her final exams, takes a job at Goode’s for the holidays. She wants to go to university and secretly dreams of being a poet, but her father objects to both notions. Magda takes Lisa under her wing, and by the time the last marked-down dress has been sold, all of their lives will be forever changed.

Perfect for fans of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, this delightful and uplifting novel portrays the roles of women in the 1950s and the timeless importance of female friendship.

Reading Group Guide

This reading group guide for The Women in Black includes an introduction, discussion questions, and ideas for enhancing your book club. The suggested questions are intended to help your reading group find new and interesting angles and topics for your discussion. We hope that these ideas will enrich your conversation and increase your enjoyment of the book.

Introduction

The women in black, so named for the black frocks they wear while working at an upscale department store called Goode’s, are run off their feet selling ladies’ cocktail dresses during the busy season. But in Sydney in the 1950s, there’s always time to pursue other goals . . .

Topics and Questions for Discussion

1. The Women in Black is set over six weeks in the late 1950s. What themes in the novel are still relevant today? Would you consider this book a modern classic?

2. The Women in Black has been described by critics and readers alike as hilarious and a comic masterpiece. What are some of the funniest moments in the text? How does Madeleine St John craft scenes of such warmth and humor?

3. The Women in Black is set against the backdrop of great societal change in 1950s Australia—from evolving roles for women to an influx of postwar European refugees. How does St John use her characters to illustrate these changes? Keeping in mind that St John herself left Australia for England and the US, are there places in the text where her feelings and attitudes about her home country emerge?

4. Compare Patty’s marriage to Frank with Magda’s marriage to Stefan. Other than the fact that neither couple has children, how are these relationships similar? What do you think Madeleine St John is trying to say about happiness in marriage?

5. Fay Baines lives by the motto “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again” (page 15). In the realm of romance, this motto doesn’t work for her (until it does). Fay does not have family around to offer emotional support during her unhappy times. What advice would you offer Fay?

6. Discuss Stefan’s ironic statement “Naturally we are cultivated, we reffos, we are famous for it, or rather notorious, it is one of our most despicable qualities” (page 94). How do Stefan, Rudi, and Magda’s appreciation of the finer things in life set them apart from the Australian characters in the novel? What do you make of their desire to share that appreciation with others?

7. Early in her friendship with Lisa, Magda thinks, “It was very nice to have the charge of so ignorant a little girl, for she, Magda, could teach her everything” (page 60). Contrast this with Mrs. Miles’s comment to her daughter, “If only you knew what being grown-up can be like, you wouldn’t want to do it any faster than you have to” (pages 98–99). Discuss how each woman influences Lisa in her own way.

8. Nearly all of the details of Miss Jacobs’s life remain a secret, even her name. What do you think she is supposed to represent? Who do you imagine she is mailing letters to on Christmas Eve when Mr. Ryder spots her (page 121)?

9. Both Stefan and Rudi stand in stark contrast to the Australian men in the novel. Discuss the ways in which the Australian men are as trapped as the women. Do any of the men in the book defy the roles set for them?

10. When Lisa falls in love with one of Magda’s model gowns, she is hit by “the sudden recognition that a particular frock is not merely pretty, would not merely suit one, but answers beyond these necessary attributes to one’s deepest notion of oneself” (page 65). Have you had a similar feeling about an item of clothing before? Discuss.

11. “Change is the law of life,” remarks Mr. Ryder in the closing pages of the book (page 208). What do you imagine Lisa, Magda, Fay, and Patty will be doing the following Christmas?

Enhance Your Book Club

1. For Lisa, William Blake’s poem “The Tyger” is mysterious and enticing. Read the poem in full and discuss why St John might have made reference to it in the novel. Discuss, too, her reasons for including allusions to other literary works such as Anna Karenina and Emma.

2. In 2018, The Women in Black was adapted into a film by Bruce Beresford called Ladies in Black. Watch the film and discuss how it compares to St John’s novel.

About The Author

Madeleine St. John was born in Sydney in 1941. In 1965 she moved to the United States and attended Stanford, and later moved to England to attend Cambridge University. In 1993, she published her debut novel in Australia, The Women in Black. She is author of three other novels including The Essence of the Thing, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. St. John was the first Australian woman to receive this honor. Madeleine St. John died in 2006.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Scribner (February 11, 2020)
  • Length: 224 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982134099

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"A little gem... shot through with old-fashioned innocence and sly humour." 
Vogue

"A highly sophisticated work, full of funny, sharp and subtle observations...a small masterpiece." 
Sunday Times (UK)

"There is something special about...The Women in Black. St John's tone is... a joy: brisk, perfectly managed and, in its disdain for clutter, oddly life-affirming. She casts an airy spell with the deftness of her prose, which moves gracefully, swiftly and with perfect manners... [St John] conjures a Sydney on the cusp of modern promise; a place where her characters can meet the future with a bright face and step out of the past like an old dress, where limits can be lightly shaken off." 
Delia Falconer, Australian

"Seductive, hilarious, brilliantly observed, this novel shimmers with wit and tenderness." 
Helen Garner, author of Monkey Grip and The Spare Room

"A delicious book. Funny and happy, it's like the breath of youth again."
Jane Gardam 

"A witty little gem of a tale... instantly transports readers back to a more genteel era." --Kirkus

 

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images