Skip to Main Content

About The Book

The internationally bestselling author of Her One Mistake, hailed by New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell as “slick, gripping, and compelling,” explores toxic relationships, dark secrets, and a twisted web of lies in an explosive new novel about a woman searching for her missing best friend.

Anna loves Girls’ Night with her friends. With the kids safely in bed, it’s a chance for the women to let loose, enjoy some wine, and just laugh. But after one lively evening, Anna doesn’t arrive for school drop-off the next morning—or the next, or the next.

Everyone, especially her husband and young son, are frantic with worry but none more so than Grace, her childhood best friend. Grace is certain that someone is hiding the truth about Anna’s unexplained disappearance. As rumors fly and accusations are whispered among neighbors, Grace decides to take matters into her own hands and find out what happened to Anna…or die trying.

About The Author

Photograph © Andy Rapkins

Heidi Perks was born and raised in the seaside town of Bournemouth on the south coast of England. After moving up to London for a short stint, she has since moved back to Bournemouth where she now lives with her husband and two children. Heidi has been writing since she was small, though for too many years her day job and career in marketing got in the way. Now she writes full time and cannot think of anything she would rather be doing.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (March 8, 2022)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982153250

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Praise for The Whispers

"[An] enjoyable psychological thriller...The suspense builds as Perks sets up expectations only to tease them apart, leaving the reader with a series of enticing questions, such as who is lying and why, and how far anyone might go to protect oneself. This disturbing view of toxic friendships will resonate with many."Publishers Weekly

Praise for Three Perfect Liars
 
"Three Perfect Liars is a slick, gripping, and compelling murder mystery, packed with complex female characters and modern dilemmas.  I couldn't put it down."

– —Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author of The Family Upstairs

“[An] ingeniously plotted page-turner… all the intramural turmoil serves as springboard for the far darker and twistier tale that emerges as the author gradually exposes these women’s secret ambitions, jealousies, and sorrows. Psychological thriller fans will look forward to more from Perks.”

– Publishers Weekly

“The women of the Morris and Wood Marketing Agency in Lymington, England, take center stage in this whodunit with a twist.… Coming off the momentum of the #MeToo movement, the workplace competition between women will intrigue suspense readers eager to discover the culprit.”

– Booklist

Praise for Her One Mistake

"I flew through this book, desperate to unravel the secrets within. A chilling, captivating story of friendship, motherhood, and deceit, Her One Mistake kept me guessing until the very end."

– —Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls

“[This] domestic suspense debut is sure to be a hit…Once the pace takes off, the twists come fast. Perks is an author to watch, and this examination of true female friendship will appeal to many.”

–Booklist

“Gripping…realistic…Fans of domestic thrillers will look forward to Perks’s second outing.”

–Publishers Weekly

"Perks lays down a major twist halfway through, but the book is also a clever, thoughtful study of the fraught power dynamics between women — as well as the people they love (and, sometimes, fear)."

–Entertainment Weekly

“I flew through this book in three days, with my heart in my mouth. Seriously page turning.”

– —Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone

"Her One Mistake is a breathtaking, bone-chilling work of psychological suspense. An outstanding debut that had me guessing right up to the very end."

– —Cristina Alger, USA Today bestselling author of The Banker’s Wife

“A terrifically suspenseful and intriguing novel that hooked this reader from beginning to end.”

– —Liz Nugent, international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver

"In the vein of Big Little Lies, Heidi Perks's latest thriller gives domesticity a biting edge when a mother's only daughter goes missing, vanishing under the watchful eye of her best friend Charlotte."

–InStyle

"...this psychological thriller is one you can't afford to miss."

–Popsugar

"The narrative is full of twists and turns...the ending is shocking and totally unexpected."

–New York Journal of Books

"This disturbing, engrossing novel will leave you holding your breath until the very end."

– Buzzfeed

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Heidi Perks