Skip to Main Content

The Weight of Beautiful

LIST PRICE $27.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Jackie Goldschneider, star of The Real Housewives of New Jersey, bravely chronicles her decades-long battle with anorexia and public journey to recovery in this unflinching, moving, and ultimately inspiring self-written memoir.

All Jackie Goldschneider ever wanted was to be thin. As a child, she’d stand in front of the mirror, sucking in her stomach and arching her back to feel her ribs, praying to see a model-like figure looking back. As an obese teen, lonely and tormented by her weight, her doctor encouraged her to start dieting, ultimately leading to a prolonged battle with anorexia that nearly took her life.

After decades of hiding her eating disorder from friends, family, and the world, Jackie is ready to expose the realities of her devastating struggle with anorexia, including the harrowing day-to-day tactics she employed to count calories and restrict meals, her struggles with fertility and pregnancy, the effects her eating disorder had on her relationships with her husband and children, and ultimately how, in a twist of fate, becoming a reality TV star saved her life.

The Weight of Beautiful is Jackie’s personal story, but within it are also the stories of millions like her, striving to lead healthy, happy lives despite their eating disorders. In the vein of Unbearable Lightness, Hiding from Reality, and What Remains, The Weight of Beautiful is a moving testament of strength, honesty, and recovery.

About The Author

© Chad Griffith

Jackie Goldschneider is a star of the Bravo hit TV show The Real Housewives of New Jersey. Before joining the show in 2018, Jackie was an attorney and freelance journalist. Her writing has appeared in Good Housekeeping, HuffPost, and Scary Mommy, among others. The Weight of Beautiful is her debut book-length work. Jackie graduated magna cum laude from Boston University and received her Juris Doctorate from Fordham University School of Law before practicing law in New York City.  She now lives in New Jersey with her husband and their children. Follow her on Instagram @JackieGoldschneider.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (September 26, 2023)
  • Length: 240 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781668023808

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“Hopeful and worthwhile… A courageously candid self-assessment."

– Kirkus Reviews

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

You may also like: Memoir Staff Picks