The Soul of the Matter

A Thriller

(Book #1 of The Soul Series)
LIST PRICE $16.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
BUY FROM SIMON & SCHUSTER:
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
About The Book

A scientist’s claim that he’s found the secrets of the universe’s origin encoded in DNA sparks a race against time to uncover the truth in this fast-paced thriller of science and faith, power and murder, loss and redemption.

Former government cyber-intelligence analyst Dan Lawson receives a call from his estranged friend Stephen Bishop, a renowned geneticist, who claims to have discovered astounding information encoded within DNA, including proof of God’s existence. He wants Dan’s help to protect his findings and continue his work. His daughter Ava’s life may well depend on it.

When Stephen is found dead under dubious circumstances, Dan investigates and discovers that the search for a cure for Ava may have driven Stephen to desperate alliances. With the help of Dr. Trish Alighieri, Ava’s pediatrician, Dan gets closer to finding out the truth about what may be hidden in our DNA—and what that could mean for humanity. But he and Trish aren’t the only ones trying to get their hands on Stephen’s findings. Cunning and powerful forces vie for access to the data that promises to unlock the secrets of life.

It’s a race against time as Dan and Trish tackle some of the biggest questions humanity faces: Who are we? How did we get here? What’s our destiny? And can the human soul survive science’s conquest of nature? Ultimately, Dan isn’t sure whether he, and the world, is better off not knowing...

About The Author
Photograph © Derek Rigby

Bruce Buff graduated from the University of Pennsylvania and Columbia Business School with finance degrees and has worked as a management consultant and information technology executive. In his spare time, he enjoys running, bicycling, and being outdoors, especially on Cape Cod and the Hudson Valley. Bruce and his wife, Claire, are the lucky parents of five children and currently reside in Westchester, New York. He is the author of The Soul of the Matter and The Last Souls.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Howard Books (July 2017)
  • Length: 432 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501141881

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"A thrilling plot filled with deception and international intrigue…This book will leave readers to ponder big questions of existence."

– Publishers Weekly

Full of unexpected twists and turns, The Soul of the Matter will leave readers wondering how this fast-paced thriller marked by the compelling combination of science, suspense, redemption, and faith could possibly be Buff’s debut novel.

– Family Fiction

"A thriller that will have you thinking and questioning everything long after you read the last page."

– B&N Reads

"Daring and insightful, Bruce Buff’s The Soul of the Matter races deftly across the latest battlefield between faith and reason—the secrets of creation itself. This gutsy debut thriller posits there is more to DNA than chemistry and some codes were not meant to be broken." 

– Tom Grace, international bestselling author of The Secret Cardinal

"A riveting read that thrills with breakneck pacing while raising fundamental questions about what it means to be human. Thought-provoking on many levels, Bruce Buff's stellar debut will open your mind to incredible possibilities. Fans of Michael Crichton and Dan Brown are sure to savor this novel." 

– Daniel Palmer, author of Helpless

"A creative, sophisticated, and thought provoking thriller... Bruce Buff has done a fabulous job exploring today's tense no-man's land between science and religion, asking and answering exciting questions about what the universe and mankind are all about and why we're here."

– Joe Buff, author of Crush Depth and Seas of Crisis

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images