Skip to Main Content

The Nocturnals Explore Unique Adaptations of Nighttime Animals

Nonfiction Chapter Book Companion to The Mysterious Abductions

Published by Fabled Films Press
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

LIST PRICE $8.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Explore Unique Nocturnal Animal Adaptations with Fun Facts from The Nocturnals!
This Middle Grade Nonfiction book is for Kids Ages 9–12 and has over 150 full-color animal photos.

It’s perfect for fans of National Geographic Kids and Magic Tree House Fact Tracker books.


This nonfiction book uses fun facts and a narrative from the adventurous Nocturnals characters—Dawn the fox, Tobin the pangolin, and Bismark the sugar glider—to learn about nighttime animals in their natural habitats.
  • Kids discover the special adaptations that help nocturnal animals succeed in the dark and investigate conservation efforts.
  • Teachers use the book in life science units as a stand alone or with the companion fiction.
  • Librarians use the nonfiction book in STEAM Book Clubs with the companion fiction.

Inside The Book You’ll Find:

  • Animals from around the world: red foxes, pangolins, sugar gliders, bats, owls, coyotes, wombats, snakes, woylies, bandicoots, crocodiles, kiwis, tuataras, aye-ayes, jerboas, and more!
  • Night Notes that explain unusual adaptations
  • Nocturnal Feature Icon Key
  • Animal Glossary with full-color photos
  • Word Glossary to build STEM vocabulary
  • At-Home Science Resources

Teach a Nonfiction Text Unit with Our Educator Guides in your Classroom or Library!
  • Next Generation Science & Common Core Language Arts Guide available on our website.
  • Can be used as a narrative read or browseable reference material.
  • Book is aligned to NGSS & CCSS ELA

Educational Leveling:
Lexile: 930L
Fountas & Pinnell: S

About The Author

Tracey Hecht is a writer and entrepreneur who created The Nocturnals, the critically acclaimed middle grade and early reader series. The American Booksellers Association chose her first book, The Nocturnals: The Mysterious Abductions, as a Kids’ Indie Next List pick. In addition, her Grow & Read early reader book, The Chestnut Challenge, was given a Mom’s Choice Gold Award. With the New York Public Library, she has also created a Read Aloud Writing Program that has since been conducted in hundreds of schools, libraries, and bookstores. Other books in the Nocturnals middle grade series include The Ominous Eye, The Fallen Star, and The Hidden Kingdom. Tracey currently splits her time between New York City and Oquossoc, Maine, with her husband and four children.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Fabled Films Press (November 29, 2022)
  • Length: 128 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781944020729
  • Grades: 3 - 5
  • Ages: 9 - 12
  • Lexile ® 930L The Lexile reading levels have been certified by the Lexile developer, MetaMetrics®
  • Fountas & Pinnell™ S These books have been officially leveled by using the F&P Text Level Gradient™ Leveling System

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

An ideal and unreservedly recommended addition to family, elementary school, middle school, and community library Pets/Wildlife collections for young readers ages 9-12

– Midwest Book Review

A fictive squad of nighttime animals shines lights on some of their real cousins... Though the language is informal and every short chapter includes mention, usually with photos, of animal babies (aww), the co-author does introduce chewy vocabulary (crepuscular, cathemeral), explains the mechanisms of echolocation and how foxes use Earth’s magnetic field to zero in on prey, and tucks further detail into a listing of further information on each animal, such as diet and habitat…likely to keep young naturalists reading well past sunset.

– Kirkus Reviews

[The] narration is accompanied by endearing color photographs and fun animal profiles...recurring visual cues draw attention to facts and tidbits to promote further exploration...a welcoming introduction to nighttime animals that celebrates biodiversity.

– Foreword Reviews

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Tracey Hecht

More books in this series: The Nocturnals