The Ice-Cream Makers

A Novel

LIST PRICE $11.99
About The Book

In this “moving story of how sacrifices accumulate in the wake of passions left unfulfilled” (Publishers Weekly)—perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and Lisa Genova—a poet must decide if he should put his family’s or his own needs first when he returns to Italy help run the family business he left behind years ago.

As the heir to a proud Northern Italian ice-cream dynasty, Giovanni Talamini’s family is none too happy when he decides to break with tradition and travel the world as a poet. So when Giovanni receives an unexpected call from his brother, he is faced with a difficult decision: return home to serve in his family’s interests or continue on his own path in life once and for all?

In a heartwarming tale that weaves history with lore and poetry with delicious recipes, The Ice-Cream Makers paints a century-long, multigenerational portrait of a family wrestling with their identity and how to ensure their legacy. This is a “delightful read; smooth as ice cream on a hot summer day” (Kirkus Reviews).

About The Author

Ernest van der Kwast is a Dutch author whose novel Mama Tandoori was an international bestseller. 

Product Details
  • Publisher: 37 Ink (August 2017)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501159404

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

“[A] moving story of how sacrifices accumulate in the wake of passions left unfulfilled.” 

– Publishers Weekly

“Van der Kwast tells his multigenerational tale with great sensitivity, demonstrating through powerful observations the long-term effect of one person's decision upon others throughout the generations. A delightful read; smooth as ice cream on a hot summer day.”

– Kirkus Reviews

"Ernest van der Kwast tells about love between man and woman, about love between two brothers, and about the moment when both vanish. Sensuous, heartfelt, deliciously beautiful."

– Brigitte magazine

‘Style, timing, and a flair for language: Van der Kwast is one of the best!’

– Vrij Nederland

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images