The High Moments

LIST PRICE $9.99

About The Book

January 01, 2016 at 9:02AM
 
NY RESOLUTIONS – THE PLAN
Exercise 6 times a week
Have sex once a month min. (counts as exercise)
Move out of home TO LONDON (career??)
Make more friends
Be better
 
New Year’s Day is the ultimate cliché for Scarlett:
 
hangover, check
feeling weepy, check
broken sense of self, check check check
 
She is in her twenties, stuck living at home in small-town Topsham with an academic mother who has no time for pep-talks or consolation. The one saving grace is that her friend, Billie, still works at the pub down the road, but even the pub is losing its appeal.
 
Feeling desperate to do something with her life and with no real plan (but the mother of all hangovers), Scarlett picks up her stuff and moves to London. But moving isn’t a miracle cure and she ends up facing exactly the same problems she was desperate to escape.
 
In the search for ‘her path’, Scarlett is offered an internship at a fashion agency. This might not be her dream job but her mother is disgusted. So she takes it. This is her first step to becoming something but it is also her first step to becoming someone else. Each terrible decision she makes leads to another and her life begins to spiral.
 
But people are starting to know her; she is starting to become someone. And surely it’s better to be someone – even if it’s someone you hate?
 
With a vein of dark humour at its core, The High Moments gives an astute, often stark, look at the fashion industry. This is a filthier, more sordid Devil Wears Prada which asks real questions about what it means to be a woman today. Fans of Fleabag and Girls will love this.
 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (May 28, 2020)
  • Length: 400 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471187988

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images