Skip to Main Content

Listen To An Excerpt

0:00 /

About The Book

As a child she made headlines. As an adult no one knows her real name. But some nightmares linger even after you open your eyes…Don’t miss this “hauntingly atmospheric and gorgeously written page-turner” (Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of A Good Marriage) from Reese Witherspoon Book Club selected and New York Times bestselling author Megan Miranda.

Everyone knows the story of “the girl from Widow Hills.”

Arden Maynor was just a child when she was swept away while sleepwalking during a terrifying rainstorm and went missing for days. Strangers and friends, neighbors and rescue workers, set up search parties and help vigils, praying for her safe return. Against all odds, she was found, alive, clinging to a storm drain. The girl from Widow Hills was a living miracle. Arden’s mother wrote a book. Fame followed. Fans and fan letters, creeps, and stalkers. And every year, the anniversary. It all became too much. As soon as she was old enough, Arden changed her name and disappeared from the public eye.

Now a young woman living hundreds of miles away, Arden goes by Olivia. She’s managed to stay off the radar for the last few years. But with the twentieth anniversary of her rescue approaching, the media will inevitably renew its interest in Arden. Where is she now? Soon Olivia feels like she’s being watched and begins sleepwalking again, like she did long ago, even waking up outside her home. Until late one night, she jolts awake in her yard. At her feet is the corpse of a man she knows—from her previous life, as Arden Maynor.

The girl from Widow Hills is once again at the center of this story in this “compulsive page-turner” (Booklist).

About The Author

Ashley Elston

Megan Miranda is the New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing GirlsThe Perfect StrangerThe Last House Guest, which was a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick, The Girl from Widow Hills, Such a Quiet Place, The Last to Vanish, and The Only Survivors. She has also written several books for young adults. She grew up in New Jersey, graduated from MIT, and lives in North Carolina with her husband and two children. Follow @MeganLMiranda on X and Instagram, @AuthorMeganMiranda on Facebook, or visit

About The Reader

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (June 23, 2020)
  • Runtime: 9 hours and 56 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781797105895

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Narrator Rebekkah Ross handles Megan Miranda's latest mystery with maximum intensity. Swept away while sleepwalking during a storm, 6-year-old Arden goes missing for three days. Upon her return, she becomes a reluctant celebrity, receiving letters from well-wishers and a flurry of attention from the media, along with an assortment of gawkers, stalkers, and creeps. Eventually, she grows up and moves; changes her name, becoming Olivia; and tries to disappear into a new life. Ross's tones of tenuousness and uncertainty are just right for Liv, who can't remember details of her three days of trauma. As the twentieth anniversary of her disappearance looms, Liv's stress level soars. She begins sleepwalking again. One night she stumbles across a body in her backyard. Ross ratchets up the tension, adding urgency and immediacy as the drama increases. Surprises and secrets abound."

– AudioFile Magazine

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Megan Miranda

More books from this reader: Rebekkah Ross