Skip to Main Content

The Exiles

About The Book

In the debut novel of Hillary McKay’s witty and warm series, the four Conroy sisters struggle to find fun while spending the summer with their grandmother.

When things get rocky for the Conroy family, Ruth, Naomi, Rachel, and Phoebe are sent off to stay with their grandmother in Cumbria for the summer. Considering Big Grandma gives orders like a drill sergeant, makes the girls do chores, and refuses to keep books in the house, their summer away sounds like a recipe for disaster.

Set on having a great summer together, the sisters decide they simply won’t take Big Grandma’s strict rules and chores, stirring up loads of chaos in the process. But as they set out to discover alternative ways of entertainment, the four sisters begin to understand why their grandmother lives how she does—and Big Grandma slowly begins to understand them.

About The Author

Photograph by Bella McKay

Hilary McKay is the award-winning author of The Time of Green Magic (which received five starred reviews), The Skylarks’ War (which was a Boston Globe Best Book and received three starred reviews), Binny Bewitched (which was a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year and received two starred reviews), Binny in Secret (which received three starred reviews), Binny for Short (which received four starred reviews), and six novels about the Casson family: Saffy’s AngelIndigo’s Star, Permanent RoseCaddy Ever AfterForever Rose, and Caddy’s World. She is also the author of The Swallows’ Flight, Rosa by Starlight, and Wishing for Tomorrow, the sequel to Frances Hodgson Burnett’s A Little Princess. Hilary lives with her family in Derbyshire, England. Visit her at

Product Details

  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books (October 16, 2007)
  • Length: 208 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781416967286
  • Grades: 4 - 7
  • Ages: 9 - 12

Browse Related Books

Awards and Honors

  • Horn Book Fanfare
  • Notable Children's Trade Book Language (AR)
  • Bulletin Blue Ribbon

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Hilary McKay