Skip to Main Content

The Clementine Complex

LIST PRICE $17.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Free shipping when you spend $40. Terms apply.

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Bob Mortimer, beloved comedian and #1 Sunday Times (London) bestselling author of the memoir And Away…, returns with a delightfully quirky mystery in the vein of Richard Osman and Nita Prose.

Unremarkable legal assistant Gary Thorn goes for a pint with his coworker Brendan, unaware his life is about to change. There, Gary meets a beautiful woman, but she leaves before he catches her name. All he has to remember her by is the title of the book she was reading: The Clementine Complex. And when Brendan goes missing, too, Gary needs to track down the girl he now calls Clementine to get some answers.

And so begins Gary’s quest, through the estates and pie shops of South London, to find some answers and hopefully, some love and excitement in this page-turning, witty, and oddly sweet story with a cast of unforgettable characters.

About The Author

© Richard Grassie

Bob Mortimer trained as solicitor before a chance encounter with Vic Reeves in the 1980s led to a successful career in comedy as half of the duo Reeves and Mortimer. His screen credits include Shooting Stars, Big Night Out, Catterick, and most recently, Gone Fishing. He is the author of the acclaimed, bestselling memoir, And Away…, and his first novel, The Clementine Complex. He’s on Twitter and Instagram as @RealBobMortimer.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press (September 5, 2023)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781668024164

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Funny, clever and sweet... The good news is that there is a lot of Mortimer's ridiculousness in all this." —The Sunday Times

"A surprisingly serious debut novel... a remarkably dark and gritty tale of... estate murder, law and order mystery, and honey-trap romance... it's a bit unusual... you'll love it." —The Independent

"Contains the funniest description of somebody having a bath that you're ever likely to read." —Daily Express

"Mortimer conveys an infectious joy in his own oddity, and... a sweetness to his worldview that makes his writing gently poignant." —The Telegraph

"It's as hilarious and surreal as you would expect... stuffed with laugh-out-loud moments." —Daily Mail

"As funny, idiosyncratic, and full of squirrels as you'd expect. It's also really rather lovely." —Heat, book of the month

“[A] punchy page-turner starring a quirky character who must leave his comfort zone to unravel a complicated knot of mysteries….will appeal to readers of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project… and Nita Prose's The Maid.” —Booklist

“Comedian Mortimer’s quirky debut novel follows a hapless protagonist on the adventure of a lifetime… The author’s comedy chops translate well to Gary’s deadpan voice… and he never lets the frantic pace flag. Here’s hoping Mortimer has more mysteries up his sleeve.”Publishers Weekly

“(F)illed with witty dialogue and a distinctive quirkiness…. This whodunit’s memorable characters help set it apart from more traditional crime fiction. Will appeal to readers who appreciate a healthy dose of eccentric humor with their murder mysteries.” —Library Journal

“The first novel by British comedian and memoirist Mortimer is a rom-com and mystery packaged in one…. Quirky, self-aware… You’ll root for a happy ending.”—Kirkus Reviews

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images