Summer Darlings

LIST PRICE $12.99
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

Set during the splendid summer days of 1960s Martha’s Vineyard, this page-turning debut novel pulls back the curtain on one mysterious and wealthy family as seen through the eyes of their nanny—a college student who, while falling in love on the elegant island, is also forced to reckon with the dark underbelly of privilege.

In 1962, coed Heddy Winsome leaves her hardscrabble Irish Brooklyn neighborhood behind and ferries to glamorous Martha’s Vineyard to nanny for one of the wealthiest families on the island. But as she grows enamored with the alluring and seemingly perfect young couple and chases after their two mischievous children, Heddy discovers that her academic scholarship at Wellesley has been revoked, putting her entire future at risk.

Determined to find her place in the couple's wealthy social circles, Heddy nurtures a romance with the hip surfer down the beach while wondering if the better man for her might be a quiet, studious college boy instead. But no one she meets on the summer island—socialite, starlet, or housekeeper—is as picture-perfect as they seem, and she quickly learns that the right last name and a house in a tony zip-code may guarantee privilege, but that rarely equals happiness.

Rich with the sights and sounds of midcentury Martha’s Vineyard, Brooke Lea Foster’s debut novel Summer Darlings promises entrance to a rarefied world, for readers who enjoyed Tigers in Red Weather or The Summer Wives.

About The Author

Brooke Lea Foster is an award-winning journalist whose articles have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post Magazine, The Atlantic, The Boston Globe Sunday Magazine, Huffington Post, among others, and is the author of three nonfiction books. Foster is a three-time finalist for the Livingston Award, the highest honor given to writers under the age of thirty-five. Foster is also an alumnus of The Writing Institute at Sarah Lawrence College. Summer Darlings is her first novel.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Gallery Books (May 5, 2020)
  • Length: 368 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982115043

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Brooke Lea Foster