Skip to Main Content

About The Book

A Courtney series adventure - Book 2 in the When the Lion Feeds trilogy


As war is declared between the British Empire and the Transvaal Republic, a battle-hardened and newly wealthy Sean Courtney realizes that it is not only on the front lines where enemies are made. While Sean’s own brother, Garrick, is bitter and vengeful—determined to destroy Sean and the empire he has built—his sons are repeating the sins of their father, locked in a violent and seemingly never-ending struggle.

On the brink of losing everything in the ongoing war, Sean discovers there is something he can’t buy – true love – in the strong-willed, self-assured and beautiful Ruth Friedman. But this love forms a weakness in him, a weakness Garrick is determined to manipulate to deliver the revenge he so desperately seeks.

As Sean fights to save himself, his family, and his fortune, The Sound of Thunder becomes a vibrant tale of love and hatred in many forms: between brothers, between friends, between father and son, and between man and woman.

The Sound of Thunder is the thrilling second novel from Wilbur Smith, one of the bestselling and most beloved authors of the 20th century.

About The Author

Wilbur Smith was born in Central Africa in 1933. He became a full-time writer in 1964 following the success of When the Lion Feeds, and has since published over fifty global bestsellers, including the Courtney Series, the Ballantyne Series, the Egyptian Series, the Hector Cross Series and many successful standalone novels, all meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. An international phenomenon, his readership built up over fifty-five years of writing, establishing him as one of the most successful and impressive brand authors in the world.
The establishment of the Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation in 2015 cemented Wilbur's passion for empowering writers, promoting literacy and advancing adventure writing as a genre. The foundation's flagship programme is the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.

Wilbur Smith passed away peacefully at home in 2021 with his wife, Niso, by his side, leaving behind him a rich treasure-trove of novels and stories that will delight readers for years to come. For all the latest information on Wilbur Smith's writing visit or

Product Details

  • Publisher: Zaffre (January 1, 2018)
  • Length: 498 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781499860115

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Wilbur Smith

More books in this series: The Courtney Series: The When The Lion Feeds Trilogy