Skip to Main Content

Some Questions About Trees

Illustrated by Toni Yuly

LIST PRICE $17.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

An utterly charming picture book that celebrates a child’s sense of curiosity about the world with playful yet thoughtful questions about trees—perfect for fans of Julie Fogliano and Ruth Krauss.

Do tiny trees dream of being big?
Do the tallest trees get lonely?
What part is the heart of a tree?

Follow along as a lively little girl explores the natural world, asking questions big and small. Filled with wonder and joy, Some Questions About Trees is a celebration of how children see the world.

About The Author

Photograph by Danny Yuly

Toni Yuly is the creator of many acclaimed picture books including Some Questions About Trees, The Whole Wide World and Me, and Thank You, Bees. She studied painting at the University of Washington, where she worked with the great American painter Jacob Lawrence. Toni also worked for many years as a librarian with the King County Library System. She now lives in Bremerton, a short ferry ride from Seattle, Washington. Visit her at ToniYuly.com.

About The Illustrator

Photograph by Danny Yuly

Toni Yuly is the creator of many acclaimed picture books including Some Questions About Trees, The Whole Wide World and Me, and Thank You, Bees. She studied painting at the University of Washington, where she worked with the great American painter Jacob Lawrence. Toni also worked for many years as a librarian with the King County Library System. She now lives in Bremerton, a short ferry ride from Seattle, Washington. Visit her at ToniYuly.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers (March 22, 2022)
  • Length: 40 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781534489158
  • Grades: P - 3
  • Ages: 4 and up
  • Lexile ® AD270L The Lexile reading levels have been certified by the Lexile developer, MetaMetrics®

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"An inquisitive child’s arboreal musings drive this whimsical picture book . . . Yuly’s dainty mixed-media illustrations touch on seasonal change . . . The unanswered questions encourage visual literacy in this simple story whose center is the connection between a curious child and nature."

– Publishers Weekly

"[An] entirely charming picture book, made even more so by the subtle, captivating art. . . This would make a nice opener to a walk in the woods or to spark a discussion about the liveliness of the natural world."

– The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Toni Yuly