Skip to Main Content

Listen To An Excerpt

0:00 /

About The Book

From the New York Times bestselling coauthor of Five Feet Apart and She Gets the Girl comes a fresh and inventive sapphic romantic comedy that’s “a gem of a book” (Booklist, starred review) “perfect for fans of Outlander and Bridgerton” (Kirkus Reviews).

What if you found a once-in-a-lifetime love…just not in your lifetime?

Audrey Cameron has lost her spark. But after getting dumped by her first love and waitlisted at her dream art school all in one week, she has no intention of putting her heart on the line again to get it back. So when local curmudgeon Mr. Montgomery walks into her family’s Pittsburgh convenience store saying he can help her, Audrey doesn’t know what she’s expecting…but it’s definitely not that she’ll be transported back to 1812 to become a Regency romance heroine.

Lucy Sinclair isn’t expecting to find an oddly dressed girl claiming to be from two hundred years in the future on her family’s estate. But she has to admit it’s a welcome distraction from being courted by a man her father expects her to marry—who offers a future she couldn’t be less interested in. Not that anyone has cared about what or who she’s interested in since her mother died, taking Lucy’s spark with her.

While the two girls try to understand what’s happening and how to send Audrey home, their sparks make a comeback in a most unexpected way. Because as they both try over and over to fall for their suitors and the happily-ever-afters everyone expects of them, they find instead they don’t have to try at all to fall for each other.

But can a most unexpected love story survive even more impossible circumstances?

About The Author

courtesy of author

Rachael Lippincott is the coauthor of All This Time, #1 New York Times bestseller Five Feet ApartShe Gets the Girl, and Make My Wish Come True and the author of The Lucky List and Pride and Prejudice and Pittsburgh. She holds a BA in English writing from the University of Pittsburgh. Originally from Bucks County, Pennsylvania, she currently resides in Pennsylvania with her wife, daughter, and dog, Hank.

About The Readers

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (August 29, 2023)
  • Runtime: 8 hours and 12 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781797161617
  • Grades: 7 and up
  • Ages: 12 - 99

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Natalie Naudus and Shakira Shute bring this yearning romance to life. Audrey, portrayed by Naudus with an American accent and plenty of sarcasm, is wait-listed for art school after being freshly dumped. After an old man visits her family’s convenience store, she’s transported back in time to 1812 London. Lucy, voiced by Shute with a gentle English accent, welcomes Audrey’s strange arrival as a distraction from her arranged marriage. Helping Audrey fit into society so she can find her happily-ever-after is quite the challenge, but falling for each other comes far too easily. Both narrators excel at switching between the accents and timbres of the two girls, creating an immersive, seamless audiobook."

– AudioFile Magazine

Awards and Honors

  • ALA/YALSA Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults List

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Rachael Lippincott