Skip to Main Content

My Especially Weird Week with Tess

THE TIMES CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE WEEK

Translated by David Colmer
Published by Rock the Boat
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

LIST PRICE $9.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Free shipping when you spend $40. Terms apply.

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

A hilarious, heart-warming summer adventure from the bestselling author of Talking to Alaska. For fans of Lisa Thompson, Stewart Foster and Mamma Mia!

THE TIMES CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE WEEK

'This funny, award-winning novel by Dutch writer Woltz is original and touching — and has two wonderfully memorable characters…’ Sally Morris, Daily Mail

It’s the first day of the holidays and Sam is roaming the island of Texel, imagining what it’d feel like to be the last person on earth. Then, like a whirlwind, 12-year-old islander Tess swoops into his life. Sam’s only option is to go along for the ride.

Soon he’s dancing the waltz, burying a pet canary and coming up with an especially weird plan to help Tess find her father, who doesn’t even know she exists. Along the way, Sam discovers the true meaning of family and what it is to be alive. One thing’s for sure – this is a holiday he’ll never forget.

About The Author

Anna Woltz is an internationally bestselling children’s author based in the Netherlands. She has written twenty-six books for young readers, which have been translated into twenty-four languages and won numerous prizes. My Especially Weird Week with Tess, which Rock the Boat will publish in 2023, was made into an award-winning film titled My Extraordinary Summer with Tess. It has been translated into thirteen languages.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Rock the Boat (May 9, 2023)
  • Length: 176 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780861542987
  • Ages: 10 - 14

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"[Woltz’s] imagination and ability to convey complicated family dynamics is unmatched in books for this age group… My Especially Weird Week with Tess has already become one of my favourite summer adventure stories."

– Alex O'Connell, The Times Children’s Book of the Week

"From one day’s eclectic activities to the next, the story’s pace never falters, while Sam’s observations and earnest, occasionally clueless responses to new situations add to the narrative’s charm...This novel is fresh, amusing, and rewarding."

– Booklist, starred review

“I loved this. Deep and serious themes dealt with in such a sunlit, funny and enchanting way. A complete delight.”

– Anthony McGowan, author of Dogs of the Deadlands

“One (especially weird) week is enough to change your life. I loved spending a week with Sam and Tess in this fast-paced, heart-warming novel. Woltz has a wonderful gift for tackling serious issues with just the right amount of tenderness and humour. All the quirky characters in this book will stay with you long after the last page. Hugely enjoyable.”

– Jaco Jacobs, author of A Good Day for Climbing Trees

“Sam and Tess’s charming story comes and goes too fast, much like that unforgettable vacation that you never want to end. I absolutely adored this!”

– Tanya Guerrero, author of All You Knead Is Love

“This novel is a heart-warming, life-affirming read about the importance of family and community, featuring two delightful protagonists who can only be their wonderful, original selves.”

– Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller, Book of the Month

'This funny, award-winning novel by Dutch writer Woltz is original and touching — and has two wonderfully memorable characters… The two complicated children build an unlikely but honest bond... while learning that being different from others can be something to celebrate.’

– Sally Morris, Daily Mail

‘Tess’s conflicted feelings about her father and Sam’s preoccupation with death’s realities are deftly handled, and Sam’s relationships with his family, particularly his brother, are realistically flawed and filled with love.'

– Publishers Weekly

‘What a treat this book is! Vibrant, fast paced, and fresh, its characters leap off the page... A rich and rewarding read that makes me hope to see more of this author’s work becoming available to English readers.’

– Joy Court, LoveReading4Kids

Praise for Talking to Alaska:

‘Timeless and clever.’
Sophie Dahl

‘A warm-hearted, funny and poignant story that celebrates all things weird and will appeal to a wide range of readers…'

– BookTrust

'A delightful adventure that will lift your spirits.'

– Week Junior

'Utterly compelling... I read it in one sitting… the relationship between Sam and Tess is delightful.’

– Book Blast

'There is something very unique about Anna Woltz’s storytelling style – it’s fantastical yet firmly set in reality, and quirky without being too far-fetched… I’ve come across very few characters who jump off the page like Tess does… an escapist rollercoaster of an adventure that is both deeply charming and at times gently philosophical.’

– School Librarian

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Anna Woltz