Skip to Main Content

Mighty Meg 1: Mighty Meg and the Magical Ring

Part of Mighty Meg
Illustrated by Micah Player
Published by little bee books
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

About The Book

In the first book of the Mighty Meg series, Meg receives a ring for her eighth birthday and wakes up with superpowers!

Meg's life is turned upside down when a magical ring gives her superpowers! But Meg isn't the only one who changes. Strange things start happening in her once-normal town, and now Meg must use her brand-new superpowers to keep everyone safe.

Can Meg master her new powers and find the courage to be the hero her town needs?

About The Author

About The Illustrator

Product Details

  • Publisher: little bee books (January 29, 2019)
  • Length: 112 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781499808339
  • Grades: K - 3
  • Ages: 6 - 8

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

Meg is about to turn eight, and she's excitedly reveling in her maturity. When her archaeologist aunt comes to visit and brings a Viking ring as a birthday gift, Meg's normal life suddenly changes. The ring turns out to be magical, and Meg discovers at school that it gives her amazing superstrength, superspeed, and invisibility. Meg isn't so sure about being a superhero (it "might result in receiving a little more attention than she was comfortable with"), but readers will be charmed by this fast-paced, breezy tale of a girl who finds the courage to embrace her newfound abilities when needed. Complementary art, sometimes spot art, sometimes full scenes, in warm hues of yellow, red, and orange shows off diverse characteristics. There is also an amazing array of hair representation, including fantastic curly hairdos, puffs, and braids. Those who are on the cusp of becoming independent readers will love the dynamic illustrations and quick chapters. An inclusive, lighthearted, magical read for anyone who loves adventure.

– Booklist

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Sammy Griffin

More books from this illustrator: Micah Player

More books in this series: Mighty Meg