Skip to Main Content

Listen To An Excerpt

0:00 /

About The Book

Cyrus Haven and Evie Cormac return in this “expertly paced and psychologically acute” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) thriller from Michael Robotham that’s “one of his best, suspenseful and hard to put down” (Stephen King).

Twenty years ago, Cyrus Haven survived a family massacre. The killer? His brother Elias.

Now Elias is applying for release from a secure psychiatric hospital—and Cyrus is expected to forgive and welcome him home. In this “brilliant novel” (The Globe and Mail, Toronto), Elias is returning to a very different world. Cyrus is now a successful psychologist, working with the police, sharing his house with Evie Cormac, a damaged and gifted teenager who can tell when someone is lying.

When a man is murdered and his daughter Maya Kirk disappears, Cyrus is called in to profile the killer and help piece together Maya’s last hours. Soon, a second victim is taken, and Evie is the only person who glimpsed the man behind the wheel. But there’s a problem. Only two people believe her. One is Cyrus.

The other is the killer.

About The Author

Photograph by Tony Mott

Michael Robotham is a former investigative journalist whose bestselling psychological thrillers have been translated into twenty-five languages. He has twice won a Ned Kelly Award for Australia’s best crime novel, for Lost in 2005 and Shatter in 2008. His recent novels include When She Was Good, winner of the UK’s Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award for best thriller; The Secrets She KeepsGood Girl, Bad GirlWhen You Are Mine; and Lying Beside You. After living and writing all over the world, Robotham settled his family in Sydney, Australia. 

About The Reader

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio (February 14, 2023)
  • Runtime: 10 hours and 37 minutes
  • ISBN13: 9781797144993

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"The pace, characters, and plot of this mystery are well done — as is Joe Jameson’s expert narration. The author continues his dual-protagonist series featuring Cyrus, a forensic investigator, and Evie, a young woman who has been scarred by her past. Evie becomes involved as Cyrus tries to identify the link among women who are being attacked. As the crimes unfold, Cyrus’s brother returns from prison to live with him. Every character — major or minor — takes on a clear personality through Jameson’s inflections, tones, and UK accents. The varying voices are distinct. For example, Cyrus tends to be calmly controlled, while Evie is continually ticked off and fights with almost everyone. The audiobook has a riveting ending."

– Winner of an AudioFIle Earphones Award, AudioFile Magazine

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Michael Robotham

More books from this reader: Joe Jameson

More books in this series: Cyrus Haven Series