Skip to Main Content

Love Is in the Air

The Story of Aviation Pioneer Nancy Harkness Love

Illustrated by Vivian Mineker

LIST PRICE $18.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Free shipping when you spend $40. Terms apply.

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Take off with Nancy Harkness Love, first female pilot to serve in the Army Air Forces and founder of the Women’s Auxiliary Ferrying Squadron (WAFS) during World War II, in this picture book biography perfect for readers of Fly, Girl, Fly! or Fearless Flyer.

In 1930, when Nancy Harkness was sixteen years old, she took a ride in a biplane and fell in love with flight. But at that time, women weren’t encouraged to pursue careers in aviation.

Despite the barriers, Nancy took to the air and earned her pilot’s license. She continued to fly in college, becoming known as “The Flying Freshman.” After traveling to Boston for a job, she met her future husband and fellow pilot, Bob Love, and began her official career in aviation, eventually becoming director of the WAFS during World War II.

By pursuing her dreams, Nancy paved the way for other female pilots to soar.

About The Author

Photograph by Dee Romito

Dee Romito is an author of fiction and nonfiction books for young readers, including the Fort Builders Inc. chapter book series and several middle grade stories. Her debut picture book, Pies from Nowhere: How Georgia Gilmore Sustained the Montgomery Bus Boycott, received a starred review from Booklist, and The Last Plastic Straw: A Plastic Problem and Finding Ways to Fix It was a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection. While she does her best to be a grown-up most of the time, giggling with her BFFs is still one of her all-time favorite things. You can visit her website at DeeRomito.com.  

About The Illustrator

Vivian Mineker is a Taiwanese American illustrator whose work derives from a love of nature and animals, as well as an appreciation of the world around her. She creates visuals that she hopes connect with her audience and evoke the profound feelings and emotions that we all experience as humans. She has illustrated a number of children’s books, including The Road Not TakenThe Secret Life of TreesWhat a Ship Sees, and Love Is in the Air. Visit her at VivianMineker.com.

Product Details

Raves and Reviews

"A straightforward biography that may inspire an interest in history and aviation."

Kirkus Reviews

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Dee Romito

More books from this illustrator: Vivian Mineker