If This Were a Story

LIST PRICE $7.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
About The Book

“An imaginative debut.” —Booklist
“Hannah’s growth is organic and well earned.” —Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of Crenshaw and The Thing About Jellyfish, ten-year-old Hannah copes with the bullies at school and troubles at home through the power of stories in this sweet and sincere debut.

Tenacious. That means strong-willed. My mother calls me that.

I wish I felt the same way.

If this were a story, I would discover I was a direct descendent of a famous soldier who won countless battles and protected hundreds of people. This resilience running through my veins wouldn’t be damaged by the notes; it would fight off bullies and prevent my parents from yelling at each other.

But this is not a story. This is real life. My life as ten-year-old Hannah Geller, who is the only girl in fifth grade to have little red bumps on her face, is unable to let the sad thoughts escape her mind, and leaves heads-up pennies wherever she can to spread good luck.

And who also finds magic in the most unlikely of places.

About The Author
Photograph by Janelle Medeiros

Beth Turley is a graduate of the MFA in creative and professional writing program at Western Connecticut State University. She lives in southeastern Connecticut and teaches writing as an adjunct. If This Were a Story is her first novel.

Product Details
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (September 2019)
  • Length: 272 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781534420625
  • Grades: 3 - 7
  • Ages: 8 - 12
  • Lexile ® 660L

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Hannah’s growth is organic and well earned."

– Publishers Weekly

"Like Ali Benjamin’s The Thing about Jellyfish (2015), Turley’s accomplished novel is deeply rooted in the imagination of its protagonist, whose hopes and fears are truthfully voiced. . . .An imaginative debut.”

– Booklist

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

You may also like: National Bullying Prevention Month