Skip to Main Content

Human Remains

The Complete Series

Colorist Dearbhla Kelly / Edited by Adrian F. Wassel / Illustrated by Sally Cantirino / Letterer Andworld Design
Published by Vault Comics
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

LIST PRICE $19.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

Alien meets A Quiet Place in this science fiction tale of terror for fans of Josh Malerman’s Bird Box and Tim Lebbon’s The Silence about a post-apocalyptic world in which monsters hunt the things that make us human – where feeling is a dangerous thing.

Live. Laugh. Love. Scream.
DIE.
Dax and Bisa love each other. But in this new and terrifying world, love is dangerous. Feeling anything is dangerous. Love. Hate. Joy. Fear. Any of these in strong doses will bring a swift death. Earth has a new and terrible invader — monsters that smell the scent of emotion, salivate over the prey, and hunt the very feelings that make us human.

A shocking tale of pent-up emotions and forced composure in the face of unspeakable horror…from one of the most celebrated writers in comics, Peter Milligan (X-Force, Enigma, Shade the Changing Man, Hellblazer, Human Target) and breakout horror artist Sally Cantirino (I Walk With Monsters; Door to Door, Night by Night; The Final Girls).

Collects the entire eight-issue series.

"Horror fans who like their scares balanced with a human touch are likely to dig this one." -- Publishers Weekly

"I read this at a gasp, horrifed by the bloody events as much as the too-familiar feel of a society self-destructing--even before the monsters come. A palpitating whirlwind of a start." -- Daniel Kraus (New York Times bestselling author of The Shape of Water, Trollhunters,The Teddies Saga, and Vault Comics' The Autumnal)

"As brilliant and incisive as ever, Peter Milligan questions what makes us human, and what motivates us to make the terrible decisions we inevitably make.” -- Kieron Gillen (Uncanny X-Men, Eternals; The Wicked + The Divine; Once & Future)

"Human Remains might be the scariest Vault series to date." – Gate Crashers

“a brutal, visceral, soul crushing world where the barest hint of emotion can lead to a violent and bloody death.” - Multiversity Comics

About The Author

Peter Milligan is a legendary British writer of comics, film, and television. One of Entertainment Weekly’s “it” writers of the early 2000s, Peter Milligan was at the forefront of the revolution in comics which were created for a more sophisticated, adult audience. Shade the Changing Man for Vertigo offered a skewered look at American culture, while Enigma, Face, The Extremist, and Rogan Gosh pushed the boundaries of what comic books could do. Milligan was the longest-running writer of the cult horror comic Hellblazer, and his take on Human Target inspired the TV series. For Marvel, the hugely-popular X-Statix was a radical reworking of the X-Man paradigm, described by Kevin Smith (CLERKS etc) as “the most well-observed scholarly analysis of media-manipulation filtered through a pop-culture lens ever committed to the page”. Milligan is the screenwriter of Pilgrim AKA Inferno (2000) and An Angel For May (2002) and is the co-creator and writer of Human Remains for Vault Comics

About The Illustrator

Sally Cantirino is a comic artist and illustrator currently based in New Jersey. She has been self-publishing comics and zines since she was a teenager. Her recent comics work includes I Walk With Monsters, Human Remains, and Door to Door, Night by Night for Vault Comics, “The Final Girls”, “Last Song”, and “We Have To Go Back”. She has also done artwork for World Champ Game Co and bands like La Dispute and Murder By Death.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Vault Comics (September 27, 2022)
  • Length: 208 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781638491101

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"I read this at a gasp, horrifed by the bloody events as much as the too-familiar feel of a society self-destructing--even before the monsters come. A palpitating whirlwind of a start."

– Daniel Kraus (New York Times bestselling author of The Shape of Water, Trollhunters,The Teddies Saga, and Vault Comics' The Autumnal)

"As brilliant and incisive as ever, Peter Milligan questions what makes us human, and what motivates us to make the terrible decisions we inevitably make.”

– Kieron Gillen

"Human Remains might be the scariest Vault series to date."

– Gate Crashers

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this illustrator: Sally Cantirino