Skip to Main Content

About The Book

From the author of Hunting Lila, The Sound, and Out of Control comes the first novel in a spooky paranormal trilogy.

What happens when you discover you aren’t who you thought you were? When you find out the person you love is the person who must betray you? If fate is already determined—can you fight it?

Lucas Gray is half Shadow Warrior, half human, and a member of the Brotherhood—a group of assassins tasked with killing the last purebred Hunter on Earth before she can fulfill a dangerous prophecy. The Hunter’s name is Evie Tremain.

Evie Tremain is a seventeen-year-old waitress who has just discovered she is the last in a long line of demon slayers—and an unwilling participant in a war between Hunters and unhumans that has raged for the last thousand years. She knows she can’t run. They’ll find her wherever she goes. So she decides she must learn to stand and fight.

But when Lucas is sent to spy on her, their fates become inextricably linked. The war that has raged on for one thousand years is about to reach a devastating and inevitable conclusion—and either one or both of them will die before the war draws to a close. If your life became bound to another’s, what would it take to sever it?

About The Author

Photograph © Heather Bonker

Having spent most of her life in London, Sarah Alderson quit her job in the nonprofit sector in 2009 and took off on a round the world trip with her husband and princess-obsessed daughter. After several months in India, Singapore, Australia and the US, they settled in Bali, where Sarah now spends her days writing by the pool and trying to machete open coconuts without severing a limb. She is the author of The Sound; Hunting Lila and its sequel, Losing Lila; and the paranormal trilogy Fated, Severed, and Shadowed.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's UK (April 5, 2016)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780857074348
  • Ages: 12 and up

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Sarah Alderson