Skip to Main Content

Before I Got Here

The Wondrous Things We Hear When We Listen to the Souls of Our Children

Blair Underwood, known to millions as a star of television and film, has delivered brilliant performances as a lawyer in L.A. Law and as a love interest in Sex and the City; currently, he is the voice of the title character in Nick at Nite's Fatherhood. But his proudest accomplishment is being a loving husband and father of three children who keep him in touch with the true meaning of life -- not fame, but family.
When Blair Underwood's young son told him the dream he had about "the last night before there are no more mornings and no more nights," Underwood asked him, "Who told you that?" His son replied, "God told me when he made me, but I only had one ear at the time, so I could only hear a little." Through conversations with family and friends, Underwood discovered how very often people have children who say things that have "left them with their jaws on the floor." As a consequence, he and Donyell Kennedy-McCullough created a Website as a destination for others to share their profound moments with children. The response from people all over the world was tremendous and led to the creation of Before I Got Here, a collection of the best of the conversations and stories from people's responses to the Website, revealing just how brilliant and spiritually in tune our children can be.
Before I Got Here makes you smile in the tradition of Art Linkletter's and Bill Cosby's Kids Say the Darndest Things, and inspires -- with the wonderful photographs of children taken by coauthor Donyell Kennedy-McCullough.
This book is a wonderful gift for ourselves and others, showing the inherent wisdom that children possess, with the power to astound us and change our lives.

Photo Credit:

Two-time Golden Globe nominee and Emmy, Grammy, and seven-time NAACP Image Award recipient Blair Underwood has distinguished himself as an award-winning actor, director, and producer. He has starred in Sex in the CitySelf Made: Inspired by the Life of Madam C.J. Walker, and Disney Channel’s The Lion Guard. He lives in Los Angeles, California. Follow him on Twitter at @BlairUnderwood.

More books from this author: Blair Underwood