Skip to Main Content

Available Truth

Excursions into Buddhist Wisdom and the Natural World

Published by Wisdom Publications
Distributed by Simon & Schuster



Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

With his books Landscapes of Wonder and Longing for Certainty, the American monk Bhikkhu Nyanasobhano led readers down literary trails, providing enlightening glimpses of the natural world.

In Available Truth, he guides us further along the path. His unqualified embrace of the Buddha's worldview - in intelligent and deeply thoughtful prose - distinguishes his work from many other Western Buddhist books. Along with reflections on mindfulness, impermanence, and the end of suffering, Bhikkhu Nyanasobhano is not afraid to delve into the topics of rebirth, karma, nonvirtue, and the roles of reasoned faith, ritual, and monasticism, revealing their continuing relevance for today's seeker. His patient awareness of the workings of the mind and the natural world will enable readers to deepen both their practice and their lives.

Available Truth will surely stand the test of time as both sound teaching and elegant writing.

About The Author

Bhikkhu Nyanasobhano was an actor and playwright before being ordained in Thailand in 1987. He now lives in the United States.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Wisdom Publications (February 1, 2007)
  • Length: 224 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780861715190

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Readers who were inspired by the essays in Landscapes of Wonder will be pleased to find more of the same in Available Truth. Bhikkhu Nyanasobhano leads us through a series of encounters that serve as points of departure for reflections on the Buddhist teachings."

– Buddhadharma

"Nyanasobhano, an American actor/playwright turned Theravadin Buddhist, writes essays and reflections on the Buddhist path that stand well apart from the general run of writing on Buddhism for their sheer literary quality."

– WildMind Buddhist Meditation blog

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Nyanasobhano