Skip to Main Content

West of Sundown Vol. 1

Out Beyond the Dust N' Dark

Colorist Triona Farrell / Designed by Tim Daniel / Edited by Adrian F. Wassel / Illustrated by Jim Terry / Letterer Crank!
Published by Vault Comics
Distributed by Simon & Schuster

LIST PRICE $17.99

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

Free shipping when you spend $40. Terms apply.

Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

From Dusk Till Dawn and American Vampire meet The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen in this terrifying tale of the Old West, survival, blood, and monsters.

La Sangre es la Vida

A beautiful vampire must flee monster slayers in New York City and reclaim the ancestral soil that restores her undead flesh. But the world has changed since she was reborn in the New Mexico desert, and now, Constance Der Abend and her loyal assistant Dooley , must adapt to life in the rough frontier town of Sangre De Moro, where all sorts of monsters have settled.

West of Sundown – where Hammer Horror and literary monsters stake their claim in old New Mexico.

A Western tale of survival starring a cast of literary horrors from the diabolical minds of Tim Seeley (Money Shot, Revealer, Vampire: The Masquerade, Hack/Slash, and the upcoming Slash Presents: Deathstalker), Aaron Campbell (Hellblazer, Infidel), and Jim Terry (Vampirella, Come Home, Indio, and the upcoming Slash Presents: Deathstalker)!

For fans of Westworld, Red Dead Redemption, American Vampire, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Hammer Horror films, Universal monsters, and Preacher!

Read the entire ongoing wild west horror saga: West of Sundown!

West of Sundown Vol. 1: Out Beyond the Dust N' Dark collects the 5-issue first arc (#1 - #5) of the smash-hit series!

West of Sundown Vol. 2: Youthful Blasphemy collects the second 5-issue arc (#6 - # 10) of the series!

"If you like your horse operas bloody, if you thought The Searchers was fine, except for all the missing vampires and werewolves and monsters, then … Tim Seeley, Aaron Campbell, and Jim Terry have a book here for you. Come walk with them through the Old West, and don’t trust them when they tell you it’s all going to be fine. It’s not. And we wouldn’t have it any other way.” --Stephen Graham Jones (New York Times bestselling author of The Only Good Indians, My Heart is a Chainsaw, and Don't Fear the Reaper)

“…a tawdry monster mash that’s bloody entertaining” – Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

"Vigorous, bloody pulp fiction boned with fierce intelligence and blooded with delicate observation. This just might be the start of the best monster universe since Universal's." -- Daniel Kraus (New York Times bestselling author of The Shape of Water, Trollhunters, and The Autumnal)

“Western gets weird in this gore-strewn, rollicking adventure set in the 1870s …with a wink toward gothic Victorian horror.” – Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

About The Authors

TIM SEELEY is one of those “slash” people…a writer-slash-artist. He has drawn a number of different comic book series including G.I JOE, HALLOWEEN, WILDCATS and ANT-MAN & WASP. His writing work include NIGHTWING, MONEY SHOT , INJUSTICE v. MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE ,the critically acclaimed REVIVAL, and the NY TIMES bestselling HACK/SLASH. He resides in Chicago, Illinois with his wife, daughter and 80s action figure collection

Aaron Campbell has been working as a comics artist for a decade, and is now the co-writer of Vault Comics horror title, West of Sundown. During his time in comics, he’s illustrated the adventures of some of the world’s most iconic characters, including Hellblazer, Batman, Harley Quinn, The Shadow, Green Hornet, Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, and Infidel, working with such revered writers as Garth Ennis, Matt Wagner, James Robinson, and Andy Diggle.

About The Illustrator

JIM TERRY is a Native American comic book artist who’s memoir “Come Home, Indio” was a finalist for the LA Times Book Prize and the Ignatz, as well as the artist on such titles as THE CROW, HACK/SLASH, HEAVY METAL and more. He is currently working on WEST OF SUNDOWN from Vault Comics. He lives in Chicago with his 4 cats.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Vault Comics (March 21, 2023)
  • Length: 160 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781638491552

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"If you like your horse operas bloody, if you thought The Searchers was fine, except for all the missing vampires and werewolves and monsters, then … Tim Seeley, Aaron Campbell, and Jim Terry have a book here for you. Come walk with them through the Old West, and don’t trust them when they tell you it’s all going to be fine. It’s not. And we wouldn’t have it any other way. "

– Stephen Graham Jones, New York Times bestselling author of: My Heart Is a Chainsaw, The Only Good Indians, and more

“…a tawdry monster mash that’s bloody entertaining

Publishers Weekly

"Vigorous, bloody pulp fiction boned with fierce intelligence and blooded with delicate observation. This just might be the start of the best monster universe since Universal's."

– Daniel Kraus (Vault Comics' The Autumnal), New York Times bestselling author of The Shape of Water, Trollhunters,The Teddies Saga, and more!

“Western gets weird in this gore-strewn, rollicking adventure set in the 1870s …with a wink toward gothic Victorian horror.”

Publishers Weekly

‘If you love vampires and finely-detailed historical adventure you’ll love this classy, filthy, exciting first issue. It looks amazing too.’

– Paul Cornell, Award-winning novelist, comics author, and screenwriter (Dr. Who, Elementary)

"I had the chance to read the first issue of this, and it is epic, bloody, and awesome!"

– Cullen Bunn, Bestselling comics writer (X-Men, Deadpool, Harrow County, The Last Book You'll Ever Read)

‘A wicked, weird western that will leave you hungry for more.’

– Cavan Scott, Screenwriter and New York Times bestselling author: Star Wars: The High Republic

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this illustrator: Jim Terry

More books in this series: West of Sundown