Skip to Main Content

The Book That Did Not Want to Be Read

Illustrated by David Sundin

About The Book

Beware! This picture book will do anything in its power to stay unread in this fun, interactive, and irresistibly silly read-aloud perfect for fans of The Book with No Pictures and Press Here.

WARNING! Stop what you’re doing! Don’t you know that this book does not want to be read?

If you try, all sorts of unfortunate things will happen. It will turn into a steering wheel! Letters will go missing! The book will act up and squirm around and grow wings and try to fly away! It will even insert a bunny that has absolutely nothing to do with anything.

A persistent reader might see all kinds of strange and magical things, silly and secret things…But this book just does not want to be read, and it’s better to leave it alone.

...Or is it?

About The Author

David Sundin is a Swedish comedian, screenwriter, actor, and television show host, as well as a silver medalist in the Swedish Championship of Puns. Having charmed the adults of Sweden, Sundin set out to entertain the pickiest audience of all: children. The Book That Did Not Want to Be Read is his children’s book debut.

About The Illustrator

David Sundin is a Swedish comedian, screenwriter, actor, and television show host, as well as a silver medalist in the Swedish Championship of Puns. Having charmed the adults of Sweden, Sundin set out to entertain the pickiest audience of all: children. The Book That Did Not Want to Be Read is his children’s book debut.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (March 1, 2022)
  • Length: 40 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665910828
  • Grades: P - 3
  • Ages: 4 - 8

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Following in the fantastic trend of interactive and wildly innovative books, this will rank among adored kid-pleasers like Hervé Tullet's Press Here (2011), and B. J. Novak's The Book with No Pictures (2014). Every page is a surprise, a treat, and a discovery...[t]he whole experience is unexpected in the best possible way[.]"

– Booklist, starred review

"This is a hilarious and thoughtful book, so much more than a funny read-aloud; the drawings and layout are essential elements that demonstrate how the visual arrangement of a book can communicate a whole story."

– School Library Journal

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images