Skip to Main Content

Searching for Savanna

The Murder of One Native American Woman and the Violence Against the Many

About The Book

In the vein of Yellow Bird and Highway of Tears, a powerful and illuminating investigation into the disappearance of the young and pregnant Savanna LaFontaine-Greywind, highlighting the shocking epidemic of violence against Indigenous women in America and the country’s deplorable inaction.

In the summer of 2017, twenty-two-year-old Savanna LaFontaine-Greywind vanished. A week after the pregnant woman disappeared, police arrested the white couple who lived upstairs from Savanna and emerged from their apartment carrying an infant girl. The baby was Savanna’s, but she would not be found until her body was pulled from the Red River days later.

This horrifying and unimaginable crime sent shockwaves through the country and helped bring to light the overwhelming sexual and physical violence Native American women and girls have endured since the country’s colonization.

With pathos and respect, Searching for Savanna confronts the history and attitudes towards these women and why our government has turned its back on the countless victims by highlighting this specific tragic case. Featuring in-depth interviews, personal accounts, and trial analysis, this is much more than a true crime book, it is also a call to action for those who cannot speak for themselves.

About The Author

Mona Gable is a freelance writer based in Los Angeles whose grandmother was a citizen of the Chickasaw Tribe. Her writing has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, The Atlantic, HuffPost, and many more. Find out more at Mona-Gable.com. 

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books (April 25, 2023)
  • Length: 304 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781982153700

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images