Scents and Sensibility

A Chet and Bernie Mystery

LIST PRICE $16.99
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
BUY FROM SIMON & SCHUSTER:
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day

About The Book

In the eighth installment in the New York Times bestselling mystery series that makes “even cat lovers…howl with delight” (USA TODAY), Chet and his human PI companion, Bernie Little, find themselves in a prickly situation when a mysterious case of illegal cactus smuggling comes to their attention.

In the latest entry in the immensely popular Chet and Bernie mystery series, Private Investigator Bernie Little and his canine companion Chet return home to encounter some alarming developments. First off, Bernie’s wall safe—normally hidden behind the waterfall picture in the office—is gone, and with it Bernie’s grandfather’s watch, their most valuable possession. And next door, old Mr. Parsons is under investigation for being in possession of a saguaro cactus illegally transplanted from the desert. Bernie and Chet go deep into the desert to investigate. Is it possible that such a lovely old couple have a terrible secret in their past?

Chet and Bernie discover bad things going on in the wilderness, far worse that cactus smuggling, and all connected to a strange but innocent-seeming desert festival called Cactus Man. They unearth leads that take them back to a long-ago kidnapping that may not have been a kidnapping and threaten a ruthless and charismatic criminal with a cult following, a criminal who sees at once what Chet and Bernie mean to each other and knows how to exploit it.

Every bit as “insightful” (Booklist), “humorous” (Library Journal), and “deliciously addictive” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) as Quinn’s previous books, Scents and Sensibility is a drool-worthy mystery that will have readers everywhere begging for more.

About The Author

Randi Baird

Spencer Quinn is the bestselling author of eight Chet and Bernie mystery series, as well as the #1 New York Times bestselling Bowser and Birdie series for middle-grade readers. He lives on Cape Cod with his wife Diana—and dogs Audrey and Pearl. Keep up with him by visiting SpenceQuinn.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books (June 2016)
  • Length: 320 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781476703435

Raves and Reviews

"Charmingly offbeat.”

– Publishers Weekly

“A perfect treat for fans of Chet and Bernie who are begging (and maybe drooling) for the eighth installment of their humorous and enjoyable investigations.”

– Library Journal

“If you like dogs and also whodunits, you’ll enjoy Scents and Sensibility, a mystery starting out small and building to a large and fiery climax at a music festival in the desert. Action-packed with a touch of the hard-boiled detective at its core plus witty canine dialogue, its narration is both creative and whimsical in a way only a true dog-lover and talented writer such as Spencer Quinn could achieve."

– New York Journal of Books

"One of the best dog-driven mystery series available, with sharp writing from the multitalented Abrahams, plenty of humorous asides (often from Chet on the all-important topic of food), and mystery plots that are genuinely intriguing."

– Booklist

  • “For dog lovers looking for whimsical summer reads, you may discover the world as seen through a dog’s nose and point of view. You’ll be amazed at what your furry friends really think about you and life in general."

– Bookreporter.com

“Light-hearted, humor-filled…the ending of this book is especially touching. Most readers will want to read it over (and maybe over yet again, to be sure they are understanding it). It's beautifully written and very emotional."

– Examiner.com

Praise for Paw and Order:

“A doggone clever detective duo… always a hoot. This onesalts a doggedly determined investigation with plenty of laughs”.

– Kirkus Reviews

“Both smart and funny.”

– Booklist

“Dog lovers will enjoy Chet’s original, offbeat narration.”

– Publishers Weekly

Praise for The Sound and the Furry

“Spencer Quinn’s masterful job of having a canine narrator isn’t cutesy, nor does it grow tiresome, a tribute to his wordsmithing.”

– New York Journal of Books

“If you are a dog lover, you will instantly recognize your own pet in Chet’s wry commentary on the world as he sees it. Quinn’s masterly skills at suspense writing provide a heart-racing climax.”

– Book Reporter

Praise for the New York Times Bestselling Chet and Bernie Mystery Series

"Nothing short of masterful."

– Los Angeles Times

"Even cat lovers will howl with delight."

– USA Today

"Spencer Quinn speaks two languages--suspense and dog--fluently."

– Stephen King

"Pulls the reader along as if on a leash."


– Booklist

“Quinn radiates pure comic genius…You don't have to be a dog lover to enjoy this deliciously addictive series.”

– Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Spencer Quinn

More books in this series: The Chet and Bernie Mystery Series