Skip to Main Content

Monument: Words of Four Presidents Who Sculpted America

Foreword by Robert Dallek / Introduction by Ken Mondschein
Published by Canterbury Classics
Distributed by Simon & Schuster



Buy from Other Retailers

About The Book

The contributions of these four presidents are forever set in stone!

From personal correspondence to presidential speeches and documents, Monument: Words of Four Presidents Who Sculpted America explores the written words of the men forever remembered on the face of Mount Rushmore National Memorial in South Dakota. Originally a project to boost tourism, the sculpture received congressional approval in 1925, and construction was completed in 1941, shortly after the death of sculptor Gutzon Borglum. Canterbury Classics has gathered historic documents penned by George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Theodore Roosevelt into this beautiful leather-bound volume, and added introductions by learned scholars to outline the contribution each president made to the birth, growth, development, and preservation of the United States. Also included is the story of how Mount Rushmore came to be, and a foreword written by historian Robert Dallek. With more than two million visitors annually, Mount Rushmore lives up to its status as a “Shrine of Democracy,” and this rich piece of U.S. history is preserved in this timeless collectible edition.

About The Authors

George Washington (1732–99) was one of the Founding Fathers and the first President of the United States. He led the American forces to victory over the British during the Revolutionary War, presided over the 1787 Constitutional Convention that established the U.S. federal government, and is generally referred to as the "Father of His Country."

Thomas Jefferson (1743–1826) was one of the Founding Fathers and the third President of the United States. He advocated for democracy and individual rights, and he produced many of the documents that laid the foundation and set the standards for the United States at both the state and federal level.

Abraham Lincoln (1809–1865) served as the sixteenth President of the United States. He led the nation during the Civil War, abolished slavery, modernized the U.S. economy, and strengthened the federal government. He was assassinated in 1865.

Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt (1858–1919) served as the twenty-sixth President of the United States. One of the leaders of the Progressive Era, his policies in office helped set standards for food and drugs sold in the United States, regulated big business, established the U.S. Forest Service, and designated the first National Parks. He is consistently ranked by historians as one of the top five American presidents.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Canterbury Classics (May 5, 2020)
  • Length: 704 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781684129072

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

More books in this series: Leather-bound Classics