Skip to Main Content

M.R. James Ghost Stories

Foreword by Robert Lloyd Parry
Published by Flame Tree Collections
Distributed by Simon & Schuster



About The Book

M.R. James's celebrated ghost stories resonate still, their chilling narratives drawing us unsuspecting into the deadly shadows. His tales are haunted, bleak disturbances of the soul, carefully crafted from the stuff of human fears. A towering presence in literature, TV and the movies, his work is much admired today. A deluxe edition, this sinister new collection offers many of his most famous tales, with some of the less well known, including: 'Oh, Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad', 'Canon Alberic’s Scrap-Book', 'The Mezzotint', 'The Fenstanton Witch', 'The Experiment' and 'Wailing Well'.

The Flame Tree Gothic Fantasy, Classic Stories and Epic Tales collections bring together the entire range of myth, folklore and modern short fiction. Highlighting the roots of suspense, supernatural, science fiction and mystery stories, the books in Flame Tree Collections series are beautifully presented, perfect as a gift and offer a lifetime of reading pleasure.

About The Author

M.R. James (1862–1936) was an absolute master of the ghost story, and foundation stone of modern horror. His work influenced authors such as H.P. Lovecraft, Ramsey Campbell and Stephen King. His story collections, including Ghost Stories of an Antiquary, remain popular today.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Flame Tree Collections (February 25, 2022)
  • Length: 432 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781839647710

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books in this series: Gothic Fantasy