Skip to Main Content

Fireside Book of Chess

About The Book

The chess community’s favorite pair of authors Irving Chernev and Fred Reinfeld bring players the world’s greatest collection of stories, cartoons, and amusing anecdotes in this exciting read.

The Fireside Book of Chess brings readers into the world of chess with a comprehensive and exciting collection of stories and illustrations regarding the game.

Including curious and interesting chess games, Chernev and Reinfeld have put together the memories, anecdotes, puzzles, lists, and trivia that surrounds the world of chess.

Perfect for those who have a deep abiding passion for chess and those who only dabble in the game, The Fireside Book of Chess shares fake histories, tongue-in-cheek stories, poignant memories and more.

About The Authors

Irving Chernev is recognized as one of the greatest chess writers of all time. After learning how to play chess from his father at age 12, Chernev grew to reach National Master satus and competed in the 1942 and 1944 U.S. Championships. Though he was a talented player, his true passion was to teach chess through the written word.

Fred Reinfeld was a writer on chess and many other subjects. He was also a strong chess master, often among the top ten players from the early 1930s to the early 1940s, as well as a college chess instructor

Product Details

  • Publisher: Touchstone (January 13, 2015)
  • Length: 416 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781501116520

Browse Related Books

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images