Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir

LIST PRICE $16.00
Price may vary by retailer
BUY FROM:
BUY FROM SIMON & SCHUSTER:
Usually ships within 3-4 weeks

About The Book

Legendary singer, songwriter, actress, and activist Cyndi Lauper offers a personal account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar in this “moving story of an American musical original” (Kirkus Reviews).

Icon Cyndi Lauper offers a poignant account of the journey that led her to become an international superstar—from her years growing up in Queens, New York, to the making of enduring hits like “Time After Time,” “Girls Just Want to Have Fun,” and “True Colors,” to becoming an actress, a mother, an outspoken activist, and maintaining a music career that has lasted more than thirty years.

After leaving her childhood home at seventeen, Cyndi took on a series of jobs: racetrack hot walker, IHOP waitress, and, as she puts it, “gal Friday the thirteenth,” as she pursued her passion for music. She worked her way up playing small gigs and broke out in 1983 with She’s So Unusual, which earned her a Grammy for Best New Artist and made her the first female artist in history to have four top-five singles on a debut album. And while global fame wasn’t always what she expected, she has remained focused on what matters most. Cyndi is a gutsy real-life heroine who has never been afraid to speak her mind and stick up for a cause—whether it’s women’s rights, gay rights, or fighting against HIV/AIDS.

With her trademark warmth and humor, Cyndi fearlessly writes of a life she’s lived only on her own terms, perfect for fans of Patti Smith’s Just Kids and Billy Idol’s Dancing with Myself.

About The Author

BACK JACKET AND AUTHOR PHOTOGRAPHS BY JO ANN TOY

Cyndi Lauper has won a Grammy, two American Music Awards, an Emmy, three MTV Video Music Awards, and has been nominated for many more. She has sold more than thirty million albums globally and continues to tour around the world. An unwavering advocate for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) equality, Cyndi created the True Colors Tour in 2007 and founded the True Colors Fund in 2008. Visit CyndiLauper.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Atria Books (February 2017)
  • Length: 368 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781439147894

Raves and Reviews

“[Cyndi Lauper: A Memoir] doesn’t feel like an autobiography so much as a long, loud, deep interesting chat over coffee.”

– Rollingstone

"Lauper’s story echoes the hopes of a struggling artist portrayed in Patti Smith’s Just Kids. A moving story of an American musical original."

– Kirkus Reviews

"[Cyndi Lauper] was mouthy then and she’s mouthy now, and [...] when authority wags its stern finger in her face, she still responds with a finger."

– The Washington Post

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

  • Author Photo (jpg): Cyndi Lauper
    BACK JACKET AND AUTHOR PHOTOGRAPHS BY JO ANN TOY
    (0.1 MB)

    Any use of an author photo must include its respective photo credit