Skip to Main Content

About The Book

Over the course of summers spent with a much wealthier friend, a country girl struggles to stay true to herself and her values in this tender story from Louisa May Alcott, author of Little Women!

When fourteen-year-old Polly Milton goes to stay with her friend Fanny for the summer, she finds that the Shaw family’s wealthy city life couldn’t be more different from her country upbringing. With her plain clothes and more practical interests, Polly is out of place among a crowd focused on following the latest trends and presenting the right image. One of the few people who doesn’t pressure her to fit in is Fanny’s brother, Tom, but he’s also one of the most annoying people Polly has ever met.

Over the next six years, Polly’s annual visits challenge the Shaw family to question their values even as Polly feels pressured to conform to societal expectations, though she remains old-fashioned at heart. As Polly navigates the highs and lows of growing up, friendship, love, and fortune, her greatest challenge is being true to herself.

About The Author

Louisa May Alcott was born in 1832 in Germantown, Pennsylvania. She is best known for Little Women (1868), which is loosely based on her own life and proved to be one of the most popular children’s books ever written. Three sequels followed: Good Wives (1869), Little Men (1871), and Jo’s Boys (1886). Alcott was the daughter of the famous transcendentalist Bronson Alcott and was friend of Emerson and Thoreau. In addition to writing, she worked as a teacher, governess, and Civil War nurse, as well as being an advocate of abolition, women’s rights, and temperance. She died in 1888 and is buried in Sleepy Hollow cemetery in Concord, Massachusetts.

Product Details

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Louisa May Alcott

More books in this series: The Louisa May Alcott Hidden Gems Collection