Scarlet Nights

A Novel

Scarlet Nights

Read by: Rick Holmes
In the third book in the Edilean series from New York Times bestselling author Jude Deveraux, a young woman learns that her fiancé is not who he appears to be.

Sara Shaw and Greg Anders are engaged to be married. Unfortunately, unbeknownst to Sara, Greg is a big time fraud man, descended from a long line of con artists and thieves. In fact, his mother is also in Edilean, incognito, masterminding a scheme to pull of the heist of her lifetime—and Greg is using Sara to get closer to what his mother is seeking.

But when Mike Newland, a sexy undercover cop, who is investigating Greg and his family, enters the picture, he is able to tip Sara off that her fiancé is not who he seems. When he asks Sara to help him gather evidence against Greg and his mother she is terrified—especially since it means she must pretend to still love Greg, even after she has found out the terrible truth about him.

As they work together Sara gets to know Mike and find out about his long connection to the town of Edilean. And with the help of Jocelyn from Lavender Morning, they at least learn the secret that has been haunting Edilean for almost seventy years.
  • Simon & Schuster Audio | 
  • ISBN 9781442304444 | 
  • August 2010
List Price $17.95 (price may vary by retailer)
In Stock: Available for immediate download

Hear an Excerpt

Reading Group Guide

This reading group guide for Scarlet Nights includes an introduction, discussion questions, ideas for enhancing your book club, and a Q&A with author Jude Deveraux. The suggested questions are intended to help your reading group find new and interesting angles and topics for your discussion. We hope that these ideas will enrich your conversation and increase your enjoyment of the book.



Sara Shaw is beautiful, good-hearted, a devoted churchgoer, and the best pie maker around. The catch: she’s engaged to a man everyone despises, a man who happens to lead a secret life of fraud and thievery and who is wanted by the FBI. When Mike Newland, an undercover cop assigned to catch Sara’s fiancé Greg and his convict mother, arrives in Sara’s small town of Edilean, Virginia, things begin to heat up. Mike must work to gain Sara’s trust to help him catch the infamous criminals—and in the process, he falls head over heels for Sara. Together Mike and Sara discover the secret of the town—and Mike’s family—that has been hidden for nearly seventy years. In the end, Mike finally learns what it means to have a family and Sara realizes what it means to be loved.


Questions and Topics for Discussion

1.      “Sometimes she felt torn between the man she loved and the town she ad see more

More Books from this Author

Counterfeit Lady
Days of Gold
First Impressions
Lost Lady

About the Author

Jude Deveraux
Photograph by Kim Jew

Jude Deveraux

Jude Deveraux is the author of more than forty New York Times bestsellers, including Moonlight in the Morning, The Scent of Jasmine, Scarlet Nights, Days of Gold, Lavender Morning, Return to Summerhouse, and Secrets. To date, there are more than sixty million copies of her books in print worldwide. To learn more, visit