Heaven's Keep

A Novel

Heaven's Keep

Intrepid hero Cork O’Connor faces the most harrowing mission of his life when a charter plane carrying his wife, Jo, goes missing in a snowstorm over the Wyoming Rockies.

Months after the tragedy, two women show up on Cork’s doorstep with evidence that the pilot of Jo’s plane was not the man he claimed to be. It may not be definitive proof, but it’s a ray of light in the darkness. Agreeing to investigate, Cork travels to Wyoming, where he battles the interference of local law enforcement who may be on the take, the open hostility of the Northern Arapaho, who have much to lose if the truth is known, and the continuing attempts on his life by assassins who shadow his every move. At the center of all the danger and deception lies the possibility that Jo’s disappearance was not the end of her, that somewhere along the labyrinthine path of his search, maybe even in the broad shadow of Heaven’s Keep itself, Cork will find her alive and waiting for him.
  • Atria Books | 
  • 336 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781439165713 | 
  • September 2009
List Price $9.99 (price may vary by retailer)


Reading Group Guide

This reading group guide for Heaven's Keep includes an introduction, discussion questions, and a Q&A with author William Kent Krueger. The suggested questions are intended to help your reading group find new and interesting angles and topics for your discussion. We hope that these ideas will enrich your conversation and increase your enjoyment of the book.


Retired sheriff Cork O’Connor has been through harrowing experiences in his days, but nothing that compares with what he faces in Heaven’s Keep.  Author William Kent Krueger’s intrepid hero gets struck with tragedy when he learns that a charter plane carrying O’Connor’s wife, Jo, went down somewhere over the Wyoming Rockies.  Despite Cork and his son Stephen’s valiant efforts to search for her, they come up empty-handed.  They resign themselves to the fact that Jo is no longer with them and that they have to move on. 

Six months later, just as Cork is pulling his life back together, two women approach him with evidence that the pilot of Jo’s plane was not who he claimed to be.   As Cork begins to investigate, he quickly finds himself and his new partner, Hugh Parmer, in harm’s way.  Refusing to give up, he travels to Wyoming, where he meets with resistance from local law enforcement and the Northern Arapaho, bot see more

More Books from this Author

Sulfur Springs
William Kent Krueger Collection #5
Manitou Canyon
Atria Mystery Sampler 2016

About the Author

William Kent Krueger
Diane Krueger

William Kent Krueger

William Kent Krueger is the award-winning author of seventeen previous Cork O’Connor novels, including Tamarack County and Windigo Island, as well as the novel Ordinary Grace, winner of the 2014 Edgar Award for best novel. He lives in the Twin Cities with his family. Visit his website at WilliamKentKrueger.com.