Before I Met You

A Novel

Before I Met You

Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone.

After her grandmother Arlette’s death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobs—all the usual preoccupations of a woman her age—in order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in ’90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. She’s ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks . . .

In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life.

As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a man—a stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette’s past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present?

A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.
  • Atria Books | 
  • 448 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781476702940 | 
  • October 2013
List Price $16.00
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
Buy from another retailer

Read an Excerpt

Articles About This Book

Off the shelf vertical blog post

Posted on Off the Shelf

Posted by Lisa Jewell

Lisa Jewell, beloved author of After The Party, Before I Met You,and other novels, answered a few questions for Off the Shelf regardingher love ofbooks and reading. Her new novel, The House We Grew Up In,will be released August 12th. Tell usabout...

More Books from this Author

I Found You
The Girls in the Garden
The Third Wife
The House We Grew Up In

About the Author

Lisa Jewell
Photograph © JASCHA GORDON

Lisa Jewell

Lisa Jewell was born and raised in north London, where she lives with her husband and two daughters. She is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA TODAY bestselling author of numerous novels, including The House We Grew Up In, The Third Wife, and I Found You. Her latest novel, Then She Was Gone, will be published in April 2018. To find out more, visit Facebook.com/LisaJewellOfficial, or follow her on Twitter @LisaJewellUK.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US