A Perfect Universe

Ten Stories

A Perfect Universe

From Scott O’Connor, author of Half World and Untouchable, comes a piercingly emotional, observant, and realized cycle of stories in the tradition of Jennifer Egan’s A Visit From the Goon Squad and Annie Proulx's Close Range.

Welcome to the often overlooked corners of sun-bleached California, away from the Hollywood spotlight and nestled in the sometimes lush, sometimes decaying suburbs: where a teenaged bicycle thief searches for a kidnapped boy, a young musician emerges as the lone survivor of a building collapse, and the weekday routine at a neighborhood coffee shop is shattered by a deadly gang shootout. As these characters search for meaning and redemption, their lives intersect in unexpected ways, through moments of wrenching tragedy, humanity, and grace.
  • Gallery/Scout Press | 
  • 256 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781507204054 | 
  • February 2018
List Price $24.99 (price may vary by retailer)
Ships on or around February 13, 2018
Pre-order now from another retailer

Reading Group Guide

This readers group guide for A Perfect Universe includes an introduction, discussion questions, and ideas for enhancing your book club. The suggested questions are intended to help your reading group find new and interesting angles and topics for your discussion. We hope that these ideas will enrich your conversation and increase your enjoyment of the book.

Introduction

Children too wise for their age, a mother who only wants to win on The Price Is Right, a musician who emerges as the sole survivor from a collapsed building, and more honest characters populate Scott O’Connor’s short story collection A Perfect Universe. The author of Half World and Untouchable, Scott O’Connor weaves a piercingly emotional, observant, and realized cycle of stories in the tradition of Jennifer Egan’s A Visit From the Goon Squad and Annie Proulx’s Close Range.

Set in the corners of suburban California, these stories blend tales of courage, disappointment, and hope, as characters search for meaning and redemption amidst parenthood, grief, coffee shop lines, and long days at the hospital. With themes of celebrity, failure, and young children taking care of their adult parents, A Perfect Universe invites you into characters whose lives are so familiar that they will begin to resemble your own streets, neighbors, and sometimes yourself.

Topics and Questions see more

More Books from this Author

Untouchable

About the Author

Scott O'Connor

Scott O’Connor is the author of the novella Among Wolves, and the novels Untouchable and Half World. He has been awarded the B&N Discover Great New Writers Award, and his stories have been shortlisted for The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award and cited as Distinguished in Best American Short Stories. He has written for Fox and Universal Television, as well as The New York Times Magazine and the Los Angeles Review of Books.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US