Pillar of Fire

America in the King Years 1963-65

Pillar of Fire

From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Taylor Branch, the second part of his epic trilogy on the American Civil Rights Movement.

In the second volume of his three-part history, a monumental trilogy that began with Parting the Waters, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award, Taylor Branch portrays the Civil Rights Movement at its zenith, recounting the climactic struggles as they commanded the national stage.
  • Simon & Schuster | 
  • 768 pages | 
  • ISBN 9780684848099 | 
  • January 1999
List Price $20.00 (price may vary by retailer)
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
Buy from another retailer

Articles About This Book

Selma movie 400

Posted on Tips on Life & Love

Posted by Sharon Knolle

The film Selma, starring David Oyelowo as Martin Luther King, Jr., focuses on the Alabama city in 1965, when a protest for voting rights turned tragically violent. The outcry over the images of black men and women being beaten by police galvanized...

More Books from this Author

The King Years
The Clinton Tapes
At Canaan's Edge
Parting the Waters

About the Author

Taylor Branch
Photo Credit: J.Brough Schamp

Taylor Branch

Taylor Branch is the bestselling author of Parting the Waters: America in the King Years, 1954-63; Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years, 1963-65; At Canaan’s Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-1968; and The Clinton Tapes. He has won the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.