(Book #4 of The Missing)
For Ages: 8 - 12
Still reeling from their experiences in Roanoke in 1600, Jonah and Katherine arrive in 1611 only moments before a mutiny on Henry Hudson’s ship in the icy waters of James Bay. But things are messed up: they’ve lost the real John Hudson, and they find what seems to be the fabled Northwest Passage—even though they are pretty sure that that route doesn’t actually exist. Will this new version of history replace the real past? Is this the end of time as we know it? With more at stake than ever before, Jonah and Katherine struggle to unravel the mysteries of 1611 and the Hudson Passage...before everything they know is lost.
  • Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | 
  • 352 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781416989806 | 
  • August 2011 | 
  • Grades 3 - 7 | 
  • Lexile ® 720L
List Price $17.99 (price may vary by retailer)
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
Buy from another retailer


Read an Excerpt

Reading Group Guide

A Reading Group Guide to

The Missing, Book 4: Torn

by Margaret Peterson Haddix

About the Book

In this fourth entry in The Missing series, Jonah and Katherine barely have a chance to recover from the traumatic events in Roanoke in 1600 when they are hurtled through time again, moments before a mutiny aboard the Discovery, Henry Hudson’s ship, in the icy waters of James Bay. As they struggle to survive the frozen seas and brutal conditions aboard the ship, Jonah and Katherine realize that something is terribly wrong. The history they remember is drastically different from what they are experiencing. Will this new version of history replace the past? Jonah and Katherine struggle to unravel the mysteries of 1611 and the mysteries about the Hudson Passage before the only future they have ever known is lost forever. 

Prereading Activities

Before beginning the book, ask readers to share what they know about Henry Hudson and other explorers of the New World. Ask them what know about North America in 1611.

Use an atlas to show readers where in North America the Discovery traveled during Henry Hudson’s final expedition.

There are place names and vocabulary words cited in the story that will be unfamiliar to most readers. Ask readers to use reference books or electronic research sources to find out as much information as they can about the following: coerce, see more

Behind the Book

More Books from this Author

Children of Exile
Children of Refuge
In Over Their Heads
Under Their Skin

About the Author

Margaret Peterson Haddix
The Backstage Studio

Margaret Peterson Haddix

Margaret Peterson Haddix is the author of many critically and popularly acclaimed YA and middle grade novels, including the Children of Exile series, The Missing series, the Under Their Skin series, and the Shadow Children series. A graduate of Miami University (of Ohio), she worked for several years as a reporter for The Indianapolis News. She also taught at the Danville (Illinois) Area Community College. She lives with her family in Columbus, Ohio. Visit her at