The Weight of Night

A Novel of Suspense

The Weight of Night

In the magnificent and brutal terrain of Glacier National Park, a devastating forest fire reveals a long ago crime that may be connected to the recent disappearance of a young boy, from the award-winning author of The Wild Inside and Mortal Fall—perfect for fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box.

In a land sculpted by glaciers, the forest is on fire. Thick smoke chokes the mountain air and casts a twilight glow over the imposing mountains and vistas of Montana’s Glacier National Park. When firefighters are called in to dig fuel line breaks near the small town bordering the park, a crewmember is shocked to unearth a shallow grave containing human remains.

Park Police Officer Monty Harris is summoned to the site to conduct an excavation. But with a 2,500-degree incendiary monster threatening to barrel through the town and no forensic detective on hand, Monty must work outside protocol. So he seeks help from Gretchen Larson, the county’s lead crime scene investigator, and someone on whom Monty feels he can rely.

The two are working against the clock to determine the true identity of the victim when a teenager suddenly disappears from one of the campgrounds in Glacier. Could the cases somehow be connected? As chances for recovery of the missing boy grow slimmer and the FBI finds only dead ends, Gretchen and Monty desperately race to fit all the pieces together in time.

The Weight of Night is Christine Carbo’s latest book in a series which “paints a moving picture of complex, flawed people fighting to make their way in a wilderness where little is black or white” (Publishers Weekly). This gripping thriller is a tribute to the power of family, set against one of America’s most majestic and unforgiving landscapes.
  • Atria Books | 
  • 416 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781501156236 | 
  • June 2017
List Price $16.00
Ships on or around June 6, 2017
Pre-order now from another retailer

More Books from this Author

Atria Mystery Sampler 2016
Mortal Fall
The Wild Inside

About the Author

Christine Carbo
Scott Wilson Photography, 2014

Christine Carbo

Christine Carbo is the author of The Wild Inside, Mortal Fall, and The Weight of Night. A Florida native, she and her family live in Whitefish, Montana. Find out more at ChristineCarbo.com.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US