The Ice-Cream Makers

A Novel

The Ice-Cream Makers

In this international bestseller, a poet struggles to decide if he should put his family’s or his own needs first when he returns to Italy help run the ice cream dynasty he left behind years ago in this charming tale perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove.

As the heir to a proud Northern Italian ice-cream dynasty, Giovanni Calamine’s family is none too happy when he decides to break with tradition and travel the world as a notable poet. So when Giovanni receives an unexpected call from his brother, he is faced with a difficult decision: return home to serve in his family’s interests or continue on his own path in life once and for all?

In a heartwarming tale that weaves history with lore and poetry with delicious culinary curiosities, The Ice-Cream Makers paints a century-long, multigenerational portrait of a family wrestling with the conflicting pulls of legacy and desire.
  • Atria / 37 INK | 
  • 320 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781501159398 | 
  • August 2017
List Price $24.00
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day
Buy from another retailer

Videos

Read an Excerpt

Hear an Excerpt

About the Author

Ernest van der Kwast

Ernest van der Kwast made his breakthrough with the novel Mama Tandoori, which became a bestseller in the Netherlands and Italy ad sold more than 100,000 copies. The Ice-Cream Makers entered the Der Spiegel bestseller list immediately after publication in Germany and remained there for several weeks. He lives in Rotterdam.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US