The Histories Book 4: Melpomene

The Histories Book 4: Melpomene

Herodotus was an ancient Greek historian who lived in the fifth century BC (c.484 - 425 BC). He has been called the "Father of History", and was the first historian known to collect his materials systematically, test their accuracy to a certain extent and arrange them in a well-constructed and vivid narrative. The Histories-his masterpiece and the only work he is known to have produced-is a record of his "inquiry", being an investigation of the origins of the Greco-Persian Wars and including a wealth of geographical and ethnographical information. The Histories, were divided into nine books, named after the nine Muses: the "Muse of History", Clio, representing the first book, then Euterpe, Thaleia, Melpomene, Terpsichore, Erato, Polymnia, Ourania and Calliope for books 2 to 9, respectively.
  • Start Publishing LLC | 
  • 65 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781625580436 | 
  • November 2012
List Price $0.99 (price may vary by retailer)

More Books from this Author

The Histories Book 8: Urania
The Histories Book 1: Clio
The Histories Book 6: Erato
The Histories Book 4: Melopomene

About the Author