The Good Journey

A Novel

The Good Journey

Inspired by actual letters, The Good Journey breathes life into history with a richly imagined chronicle of twenty tumultuous years in the marriage of two American pioneers.
Strong-willed Southern belle Mary Bullitt abandons her life of luxury in Louisville, Kentucky, when she marries General Henry Atkinson and accompanies him to his outpost on the Mississippi. Nothing has prepared her for marriage to this attractive older man -- or for the realities of frontier living. Conditions are primitive, Mary knows virtually nothing about her husband, and the threat of attack from Indians is constant. A rough and resourceful general, Henry is engaged in a long and historic clash with a great Native American leader, and his deeply conflicted feelings about Indians mirror those he and his wife have for each other.
In the tradition of Willa Cather and Edna Ferber, Micaela Gilchrist has crafted an exciting novel that is at once a love story and an action-packed depiction of the struggle for the West.
  • Simon & Schuster | 
  • 400 pages | 
  • ISBN 9780743223775 | 
  • November 2002
Add to Cart
List Price $24.99
In Stock: Usually ships within 1 business day

Read an Excerpt

More Books from this Author

The Fiercer Heart

About the Author

Micaela Gilchrist
Photo Credit:

Micaela Gilchrist

Micaela Gilchrist is the author of The Good Journey, winner of the Women Writing the West Award and the Colorado Book Award. She lives with her family in Colorado.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US