Not Quite Narwhal

Not Quite Narwhal

Illustrated by: Jessie Sima
For Ages: 4 - 8
In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.

Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he’s always been a little bit different—his tusk isn’t as long, he’s not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn’t enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.

Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima’s debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.
  • Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | 
  • 40 pages | 
  • ISBN 9781481469098 | 
  • February 2017 | 
  • Grades P - 3
List Price $17.99
Usually ships within 3-4 weeks
Buy from another retailer

Videos

About the Author

Jessie Sima
Courtesy of Tory Williams

Jessie Sima

Jessie Sima is an author/illustrator living and working in New York City. She grew up in a small town in Southern New Jersey, unaware that she was a storyteller. Once she figured it out, she told her family and friends. They took it quite well. She is the author of Not Quite Narwhal and Harriet Gets Carried Away. You can visit her at JessieSima.com.

BECOME A FAN

Explore

CONNECT WITH US